Home > Pastries > Watermelon Chiffon Pie

Watermelon Chiffon Pie

I dont know if any of you would agree with me, but for me, pie making is generally laborious. As if all that mixing chilling, rolling and (sometimes) pre-baking pie dough isn’t enough, there is still all that fancy filling to prepare.

I guess there are steps in which you can prepare before hand, but for this pie, i was feeling a lil too ambitious.

I just had to make my own graham cracker crumbs for my pie, the actual pie crust and the filling, on the SAME day. And when it came to the final step of popping the pie into the refrigerator, i was quite sure that i needed the chilling more than that pie.

I’ve never had chiffon pies before, so i don’t really have a standard. But as far as this goes, it is pretty delightful. Instead of a thick creamy filling that accompanies most pies, this has a light, fluffy, mousse-like filling.

Did i mention that this was watermelon flavoured?

Apparently, slicing across a watermelon is not as easy as it looks, and it definitely justified my take on “laborious” in this pie making.

Whoops, sorry for the slightly wobbly and weather beaten filling in this pic. I was kinda taking my time taking the first few uncut shots of this pie under the sun, which happens to be the best lighting prop. Ever.

Anyways, as you can see Lil Miss Maintenance is definitely not liking the sun too much. No biggie, just pop her back into the fridge, and she’ll be fine :)

A lil side note, the filling recipe makes waaaay too much. I poured the remaining into a mini cup.

Or a lot of mini cups. See when i said  “Waaaaaay too much”? LOL

I am not complaining though. They are pretty handy to grab off the fridge!

Recipe from Nancy at Food.com (Thanks for Sharingg!)

Ingredients:

Servings:

10 10

10-12

Filling

Garnish

Directions:

Prep Time: 20 mins 

Total Time: 4 1/2 hrs

  1. 1 Place a medium sized bowl and a set of beaters in the refrigerator to chill.
  2. 2 Bake pie crust according to directions and let cool; Refrigerate until ready to use.
  3. 3 Combine the watermelon and granulated sugar in a very large bowl; using a potato masher, mash until the mixture is quite liquid; set aside for 15 minutes.
  4. 4 After 15 minutes, drain the mixture through a strainer, reserving almost 2 ¾ cups of the watermelon juice and then discard pulp and seeds.
  5. 5 Put ¼ cup of the juice in a medium size bowl and sprinkle the gelatin over it; set aside for 3 to 4 minutes to dissolve.
  6. 6 Heat ½ cup of the juice in a small saucepan over medium heat (or in the microwave) to a near boil; whisk the hot juice into the dissolved gelatin.
  7. 7 Pour the remaining 2 cups watermelon juice into a large bowl an stir in the gelatin-watermelon juice mixture; stir in the lime juice; place in refrigerator.
  8. 8 Using an electric mixer, beat the egg whites in a medium size bowl until stiff peaks form; set aside; clean and dry beaters;
  9. 9 Using the chilled medium-size bowl and chilled beaters, beat the heavy cream with the mixer until it holds soft peaks; add the confectioners? sugar and beat until smooth and stiff but not grainy; refrigerate.
  10. 10 When the watermelon juice mixture starts to firm up, add about one-quarter of the whipped cream and beat with the electric mixer until smooth.
  11. 11 Add the beaten egg whites and remaining whipped cream and gently fold them in with a large rubber spatula; if necessary, use a whisk-very briefly- to smooth the mixture and break up any large globs of whites or whipped cream;
  12. 12 Pour the filling into the cooled pie shell; shake to settle; cover with loosely tented aluminum foil and refrigerate for at least 4 hours, preferably overnight.
  13. 13 To serve, garnish each slice with a dusting of confections? sugar, and then add a dollop of whipped cream, if desired.
Categories: Pastries Tags: , ,
  1. October 24, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    I’ve never heard of a watermelon chiffon pie before. It must look so pretty. I know my family would probably enjoy it because they love chiffon pies.

  2. October 25, 2010 at 1:14 am

    I never saw a watermelon pie before either! It looks so light and fluffy. And refreshing! Bookmarking this for next summer – what a treat!

  3. October 25, 2010 at 1:38 am

    Okay, this is gorgeous!!!! You got some REALLY good pics of this pie. I’m jealous! Not only does it look good, it sounds really good too. Pies can sometimes be a pain in the neck to make, can’t they. You did a great job though. I think I need to stay away from meringue. :o)

  4. October 25, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    I’ve never heard of a Watermelon Pie before! That is wonderful..I agree the pics are great and it sounds so good! Great Job!

  5. October 25, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    I’ve never heard of watermelon pie before! Sound interesting and certainly looks good. I think I would go the lazy, er easy route and make parfaits! :)
    ~ingrid

  6. October 25, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    I don’t like to eat watermelon, but I do like the flavour of it. (I think it’s the texture I don’t like)

    This recipe sounds awesome! Sounds good for summer since it’s light and fresh.

  7. October 25, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    What a gorgeous, gorgeous pie! I just love the looks of the pie crust (you must have made it by scratch!?!) and the filling with that lovely pinkish/red color is mouth watering!!!

    Wishing you a wonderful Monday!
    ~avril :-)

  8. October 25, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    Watermelon Chiffon Pie – how unique! I bet it tastes as scrumptious as it looks – what a way to wave goodbye to summer!

  9. ida
    October 25, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    many thanks to come to my site. Nice pie color…..

  10. ida
    October 26, 2010 at 3:25 am

    This is something new to me… never thot of incorporating watermelon in bakes.

  11. October 26, 2010 at 7:31 am

    Hey Crustabakes,
    I totally agree with you on the labourious work required for making pies! However, when they’re done, they’re such an indulgence, isn’t it? So people like us can complaint till cow come home, but yet, we love it to death! Hahaha… This is a very special and nice watermelon chiffon pie you have made. I’ve not tried chiffon pie before, nor watermelon pie. I’ll definitely have to try it one of these days. Do you reckon I can replace watermelon with any other tropical fruits?

  12. November 2, 2010 at 3:33 am

    Just notice there is a nice blog here! This watermelon chiffon pie is something new to me. It must have a refreshing effect right?! Very pretty pie!

  13. January 2, 2012 at 12:03 am

    my goodness this looks amazing! <3 MaSucree

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 413 other followers

