Home > Cookies > Tiramisu

Tiramisu

I’ve always seen the classic tiramisu as a very sophisticated dessert which requires mad baking skills and finesse in cake layering and decorating.

Boy, was i misinformed. This has got to be one of the easiest dessert i’ve ever whipped.

Here, let me show you my step by step

First, we start with the sponge fingers.

Store bought sponge fingers of course. I dont think i would be remarking how easy this dessert was if i had to bake my own sponge fingers. LOL.

Dip them sponges in coffee. Not just regular coffee.

Rum spiked coffee. :)

This band of boozed up sponges are then assembled to form a groupie.

  

Of course, we cant be expecting the sponge fingers to fit exactly into whatever vessel you choose to house the tiramisu in. I’ve snipped the tails and heads of some unfortunate sponge fingers so that they could fit into my 8 x 8 square pan.

You might also realize that i have lined my baking tin with aluminium foil. This is for easy lifting (More on that later).

Let’s get on to the filling!

Couple of yolks beaten till they are pale and light.

To which the mascarpone goes in.

Beat together till lump free,

and fold in some softly whipped cream!

The filling goes over the dunked and the drunkened,

before another layer of tipsy happy sponges get on.

We repeat the same sequence with the cream over this second layer of sponge fingers, and dust it off with a little cocoa powder

And voila!

Next comes the hardest part of the recipe.

Refrigeration. For at LEAST 4 hours.

I needed some major distraction to stop me from peeking into the fridge every 10 minutes.

I went shopping

After an all too fruitful shopping trip, with me buying things on a shopping trip that was totally uncalled for, i came home to this.

A beautifully set tiramisu which i eased out effortlessly using the overhang from my aluminium foils.

Enough talking, this post is getting too long

Let’s dig in!

Recipe:

Tiramisu from Brown Eyed Baker

 

 

 

  1. June 15, 2011 at 7:58 am

    This I will definitely make, I am in a lookout for a great recipe for this one and looks like you gave me the answer. And I agree waiting is always the hardest part.

  2. Liv B
    June 15, 2011 at 8:03 am

    YUM! I love tiramisu but my family isn’t really a fan of it. I guess I’ll have to just make it and keep it to myself!

  3. June 15, 2011 at 8:52 am

    E’ stato preparato molto bene, complimenti ciao ♥

  4. June 15, 2011 at 9:19 am

    /Wow you made it look so simple. It turned out lovely.

  5. June 15, 2011 at 9:28 am

    Wow … thank you so much for your sharing in such details. I have always think tiramisu is very difficult. I wanna book mark this. Hope to get my hands on this soon….

  6. June 15, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    Wow, that was easy :) I want to try this one, just need to find some friends who like Tiramisu lol. Thanks for the excellent step by step photos!

  7. June 15, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    Oooh, it looks so professional! :) I’ve tried making tiramisu before and it always comes out all mangled…but now I’ll have to try your aluminum foil trick!

  8. June 15, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    Looks wonderful and easy. Nice step by step. My wife does make it more complicated, makes her own torte.

  9. June 15, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    Insert stomach growling! Look fabulous, as always. :)

  10. June 16, 2011 at 2:34 am

    Lovely pics … I’d love to make this but I’d have to make the sponge fingers and the mascarpone cheese myself, since it not easily available here.

  11. June 16, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Wow, Tiramisu my…….favorite. Yum yum, now I’m craving for it .

  12. June 17, 2011 at 12:44 am

    this looks wonderful love making tiramisu at home delicious

  13. joon
    June 17, 2011 at 4:06 am

    I love tiramisu and your method looks super easy. The only thing is that mascarpone costs an arm and a leg!

    Is there a substitute that wouldn’t compromise too much on flavour?

    And…I know what you mean about giving away baked goods so that you can make room for more baking :)

    I can’t wait until my cakes are finished so I can start on the next one!

  14. June 17, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Tiramisu is one of my most favorite desserts ever. I’ve never tried making it before, but I just might have to now!

  15. June 20, 2011 at 12:51 am

    What a lovely tiramisù. Complimenti!

  16. June 20, 2011 at 6:43 am

    tiramisu is always managed to brighten my gloomy mood – just like ice cream and pudding :)
    yummy!

  17. Yi Lin
    June 20, 2011 at 8:17 am

    mmmm love tiramisu! :D

  18. June 22, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    i really like your step by step instructions here..and sounds so easy making them!!

  19. July 31, 2011 at 11:01 am

    Step by step instructions for the win! That looks really good! Thanks for the share :)
    But for the coffee, could I not spike it with rum and just normal coffee?

  20. Willow
    February 16, 2012 at 5:05 am

    Looks yummy and your picks are very helpful. My question is are the eggs raw? no double boiler cooking needed?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 416 other followers

