Home > Pork > Pulled Pork Sandwich

Pulled Pork Sandwich

I’ve heard tales of the slow cooker and its powers.

I’ve heard of its ability to yield a mean, tough cut of meat into the most tender, and most delicate.

I was drawn and i was curious.

I needed that kind of capacity in my life.

I went to the store and i bought.

A slow cooker and myself. Together, we are ready to embark on some adventure.

We started our journey with this coca cola pulled pork recipe.

With just three ingredients (pork, coke and bbq sauce), this recipe seemed befitting for a couple of greenhorns.

I’ve chosen pork shoulder for our first experiment.

Pork shoulder is a relatively cheap cut which usually require lengthened cooking time.

And when i say “lengthened”, i mean ALL night long. Literally.  All 8 hours of cooking.

Patience will really come in handy.

But it will reward too.

Because my pulled pork was not only fork tender, but it was also flavourfully delicious.

And i do think i have a new best friend.

Rejoice Oven and Stove, lets welcome Slow Cooker into the family.

Slow Cooker Cola Barbeque Pulled Beef Or Pork

  • 3 lb. beef or pork roast
  • 1 can Coca cola ( NOT DIET! )
  • 1 – 16 oz. bottle of your favorite barbeque sauce
    • Trim fat off roast and place in appropriate sized slow cooker. Pour cola over the roast. Cover and cook on low 6 – 8 hours or until meat falls apart easily.
    • Remove roast from cooker and shred. In a colander set over a large bowl, drain juices from slow cooker and reserve.
    • Return meat to slow cooker and stir in barbeque sauce. Thin with some of the reserved juices (don’t throw them out yet!). Cook for another 1/2 to 1 hour on low or until heated through. Thin with additional juices, if necessary. I like to have the sauce just slightly thin, so some of the sauce soaks into the buns, but not so thin that they get soggy.
    • To serve, place a good amount of the meat mixture onto the bottom half of a bunand top with the other bun half. Serve with homemade french fries (I did!)

 

 

  1. November 20, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    I love the not diet instruction! This looks wonderful!

  2. November 20, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    What a great slowcooker recipe! The pulled pork looks perfect!

  3. Mia
    November 20, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    I’m so excited to try this… my husband is a big pulled “meat” fan and I’ve been trying to find a easy recipe. Can’t get any easier than this. Thanks for sharing!!

  4. November 21, 2011 at 3:17 am

    Wow! This can really prove that there is beauty in simplicity. Just 3 ingredients but the outcome is so satisfying. I realized I haven’t maximized the use of my slow cooker(like I should!)…This is a wake up post for me…Thank you!

  5. November 21, 2011 at 4:25 am

    Yay!! You’ve come over to the crock-pot dark side. :) It’s a fun place, I promise. Love the gorgeous pulled pork.

  6. November 21, 2011 at 7:37 am

    Yum, that pulled pork looks so flavourful. I made some of these before but with rootbeer, you can see my post here http://wp.me/pMp9M-12j

  7. November 21, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    Looks so yummy and flavourful! Pulled pork sandwiches are one of my fave meals.

  8. November 23, 2011 at 2:07 am

    you’re making me want a slow cooker too! but that photo of the pork looks so darn good!!!

  9. November 23, 2011 at 6:20 am

    There’s nothing like a pulled pork sandwich and yours look amazing! I also make my pulled pork sandwiches in the slow cooker.. the meat just turns out wonderful

  10. November 23, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Love pulled pork in a slow cooker! And using coke… how interesting!! Looks great!

  11. November 24, 2011 at 8:15 am

    yum! i have been procastinating in purchasing slowcooker…no more excuse now, gotta buy it! your pulled pork is too good to be missed out! :)

  12. December 4, 2011 at 7:45 am

    I’d never heard of coke and meat before. This pork looks so good:)

  13. December 6, 2011 at 1:47 am

    Valuable information. Fortunate me I found your site unintentionally, and I’m surprised why this coincidence didn’t came about earlier! I bookmarked it.

  14. December 7, 2011 at 2:40 am

    I have a slow cooker but never think to pull it out! This looks so good and so easy though, that it has inspired me. :) I love to come home to dinner already made!

  15. December 7, 2011 at 11:20 am

    wow… only 3 ingredients for 15 minutes of heaven? This is awesome! Will definitely give it a try! :)

  16. December 15, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    We use Coca-Cola when we make ribs, so I know what amazing flavor it gives the meat. These sandwiches look divine! x

  17. January 11, 2012 at 9:29 am

    who in the world came up with combining coke and pork? but they work so well together! I love your pulled pork recipe. so easy, tasty and fuss free. yummy!

  18. doris
    January 23, 2012 at 1:16 am

    i did pork tenderlion roast it is smaller cooked on 6 hrs on high yummmmm

  19. January 30, 2012 at 10:22 am

    This is special thou.

  20. January 31, 2012 at 10:22 am

    Where have you gone? I miss your pretty food photos:)

  21. March 8, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    there is really nothing better than a pulled pork sandwich! I need to give in and get a slow cooker – it would make life so much easier!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 417 other followers

