Home > Chicken > Chicken Teriyak Burger

Chicken Teriyak Burger

I can’t believe I am finally dusting this old blog of mine from its inch deep of dust.

I apologize for the lack of activity around here. But hey, I think i might have a good excuse for it.

Over the past few months, I have had a baby!

Yes, my very own little bundle of Joy. And i couldn’t be any happier!

And i guess I am not like the SuperMoms out there who are able to juggle their babies in one hand while flipping pancakes with the other.

I am a Total mess.

and I am awful with time management.

Between feeding my baby girl (Yes, it’s a girl!) and burping her. I barely have enough time to wipe the spit up across my shoulder before my little one wails out for another request. Be it a diaper change, or a soothing hug. I am not complaining. I am more than happy to attend to her needs.

It just means that i won’t be posting as often.

And i will have to make do with lackluster blog posts and photos like so:

Image

This is really a raw picture. I didn’t have time to take out my lights or assemble my props the way i usually did way back when.

Nevertheless, I am happy i was able to put up this post. Even when i had to stop about four times doing so. :)

Chicken Teriyaki Burger

(Recipe taken from To Food with Love)

Ingredients
5 chicken thighs with skin-on, deboned
Teriyaki sauce:
1/2 cup Kikkoman soy sauce
1/2 cup sake
2/3 cup mirin
3 tbsp sugar
Method
Place ingredients for sauce in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Stir to dissolve the sugar and simmer for 10-15 minutes or until the sauce is reduced to less than half. Transfer to a bowl and let it cool. It will continue to thicken a little during cooling.
Season chicken thigh fillets with black pepper and pour about 4 tbsp of the teriyaki sauce onto the chicken. Mix well and leave in the fridge to marinate for 1 hour. Reserve the rest for later.

Preheat oven to 210C (400F). Place the chicken in a baking dish or a tray lined with foil. Bake on the upper rack of the oven for 25-30 minutes, turning the chicken once halfway and baste with remaining marinade. When cooked, remove and transfer to a chopping board. Slice into 3/4 inch strips.

* To serve, I seared burger buns facedown in a pan with a bit of garlic butter.

I assembled the lettuce and tomatoes on the seared buns and placed the teriyaki chicken in between.

  1. October 7, 2012 at 9:06 am | #1

    Congratulations on the birth of your bb girl! Enjoy every minute of it before one day she’s busy with her own friends and activities :)
    Being a mummy is just like what mastercard ad : priceless! :)
    the chicken is so finger licking good!

  2. October 7, 2012 at 1:47 pm | #2

    Welcome back and congratulations!! Missed your posts!

  3. October 8, 2012 at 2:49 am | #3

    Congratulations on your new baby girl! I just dusted off my blog too, but I have no excuse like a baby for it. :) Your burger looks delicious!

  4. October 8, 2012 at 4:25 am | #4

    Congrats! I miss your posts, glad to see you back!

  5. October 21, 2012 at 11:59 pm | #5

    Welcome back!! Congratulations on your new daughter! You look so young in your photo, I was surprised that was the reason behind your absence =P Congratulations!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers

