Home > Cookies > 12 Weeks of Christmas, Week #1- Smores Cookies

12 Weeks of Christmas, Week #1- Smores Cookies

I am probably ahead of everyone in posting my first post, but i am on the other side of the world, and it’s Friday for me already! Yays!!

Anyways, for my first post, i decided that i wanted something familiar and comforting. Something homely, unpretentious and simple, for that is what Christmas is all about right?

The first thing that came to mind was of course the classic – Chocolate chip cookies. These cookies don’t need any introduction, for they are practically a household staple.

But, baking chocolate chip cookies would be boring.

Every household probably already has their own favourite recipe they go back to from time to time. They don’t need me to post yet another recipe.

So i decided to jazz it up a lil’ bit, and made these Smores Cookies.

These cookies are basically your average chewy, soft baked chocolate chip cookies. But they kicked it up a notch by having graham cracker crumbs as part of its list of ingredients.

Good thing i had that at the ready, homemade. That added extra depth in aroma and flavour.

And of course, the obvious toppings didn’t hurt as well. The recipe called for Hershey’s chocolate blocs and marshmallows. I added graham cracker bits for good measure (yes, i am pretty obsessed with that cookie! )

Michelle used these cookies to bribe someone to cover her shift. That’s a fair exchange. In fact, it might be in favour of the beneficiary of these cookies. I, for one, wouldn’t mind it for one bit. 🙂

Thanks Michelle for sharing the recipe!

Smores Cookies

1 3/4 cups flour

1 cup graham cracker crumbs

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

1 cup/ 2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup light brown sugar

2 tsp. vanilla

2 eggs

2 cups miniature chocolate chips

1 1/2 cups mini marshmallows

2 regular Hershey bars, roughly chopped

In a stand mixer, combine the butter and sugars and mix until fluffy. Mix in the eggs and vanilla until combined. Add the flour, graham crackers, salt and baking soda and mix well. Stir in the chocolate chips then cover and refrigerate the dough for about one hour. Preheat oven to 375 F. Take a tablespoon of the dough, roll into a ball, and drop onto a greased baking sheet. Repeat with the rest of dough, leaving about 2 inches between each to allow it to spread. Bake for 6 minutes, then remove from the oven. Push a 3 – 5 marshmallows and a few pieces of a Hershey’s bar into each cookie. Return to oven and bake for another 2 – 3 minutes until golden brown and the marshmallows are a bit toasted. Cool on a wire rack and enjoy!

I can’t wait to see what the others bake!

For the complete list of the 12 weeks of christmas cookies participants, head over to Abby Sweets.

Lastly, i wish a Happy Friday to everyone. Remember, we are only 12 weeks away from Christmas!

Week 1 Twelve Weeks of Christmast:

Categories: Cookies Tags: , , , ,
  1. October 1, 2010 at 5:34 am

    These look so good. I love anything with s’mores in them.

  2. Pam
    October 1, 2010 at 11:49 am

    I love s’mores cookies! I am having so much fun looking at all of the great recipes and can’t wait to see what everyone does! Thanks for sharing these!

  3. October 1, 2010 at 11:52 am

    Girl, you had me a smore…:) I am also impressed that you make your own graham crackers!

  4. October 1, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    These look wonderful!!

  5. October 1, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Oh my gosh! These look so good! Smores are my favorite!

  6. October 1, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    I’ve never had a s’more cookie before but I love s’more’s. They look awesome. Can’t wait to see what you bake up next week.

  7. October 1, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    S’mores ROCK in any shape or form….love the looks of these cookies!

  8. October 2, 2010 at 2:31 am

    These have been on my radar for a while now, I’ve got to make them! I love that they have graham cracker crumbs in them and you rock making homemade!

  9. October 2, 2010 at 3:24 am

    S’mores are so, so good – an excellent choice!

    I’m glad to see someone else on WordPress – because it doesn’t support the linky system that was set up for the 12 weeks of cookies! I don’t feel so alone now!

    • crustabakes
      October 2, 2010 at 5:25 am

      Hi Megan,
      April told me that u are having issues too. Kinda stinks eh.. I am not letting that ruin my fun though.
      I guess we’ll just make do with whatever we can, and add our post to the linky via the others’ blogs. 🙂

  10. October 2, 2010 at 3:56 am

    I love how each element of the smore is by itself in the cookie instead of smushed together. I am adding these to my list.

  11. October 2, 2010 at 4:22 am

    Those look delicious. I love smores. Can’t wait to see next week.

  12. crustabakes
    October 2, 2010 at 5:22 am

    Thanks everyone for the lovely comments! i cant wait to see what everyone else bakes up next week too! this is so much fun! 🙂

  13. October 2, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    YUM!!!! THese sound sooooo awesome!! 🙂 Look forward to baking along with you the next 12 weeks 🙂

  14. October 2, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    I love S’more cookies and I think they make the perfect cookie for a cookie platter. Love the addition of graham crackers on top!

  15. October 2, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    I think these make the perfect cookie for a Christmas platter. I love all the elements on top! Happy Baking!

  16. October 2, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    Those are so cute! I bet they were absolutely delicious too. Can’t wait to see what you come up with next week!

  17. October 3, 2010 at 3:58 am

    Ooohhhh…how fun! My husband would love these! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

