Home > Pastries > Gorgeous Gougeres

Gorgeous Gougeres

When it comes to French baking, I am probably as french as french fries could get.
Sure i have heard of the legendary Pierre Hermes and his macaroons,
but when it comes to creating this kinda advanced, sophisticated baking, I am lost at sea.

Recently, the foodism blogosphere has been hyped about Dorie Greenspan’s new cook book “Around my French table”.
If you haven’t heard about French Fridays with Dorie, then you’ve probably heard about Tuesdays with Dorie.
Both are groups dedicated to cook or bake pre-chosen recipes from the two of Dorie’s books.

And as foreign as the name sounds to me, i felt impelled to try.
One, because they look like balls of cheesy goodness

And two, because it’s a Dorie!
And i can’t tell you enough how much i worship her first book, Baking from My Home to Yours,
or how it lays beside my bed, as one of my favourite bedtime reading..

Like most of Dorie’s recipes, this one did not disappoint.

I pulled out a tray of aromatic cheesy little orbs which were crisp on the outside and absolutely moist within.
They were so packed with flavour, I felt as if my sense of smell was working overtime, in a good way of course as i bit into them.

I was also impressed by the powerpuff lift (*cue for the cartoon network themesong) which created a cavernous interior.

Although these are made to be eaten empty, i just wished i had something to fill it up with. Really, the gorgeous hollow just screamed to be filled with more goodness!

Anyways, as much as i love Baking from my Home to Yours, i think i would be giving Around My French Table a pass, cause after all, it’s about French cooking, not baking. and God knows how challenged i am with a stove.

I was however, able to get the recipe off the Amazon webbie. It is one of the first few recipes which Amazon allows to you to browse through.

I will not be posting the recipe here as there is a code against that with the group

Oh, one last thing though, please do serve these immediately. These babies kinda lose their crispness after a while.

Categories: Pastries Tags: , ,
  1. October 18, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    Oh my, look at those perfectly round and hollow puffs… they are the definition of cheese puff! They look wonderful.

  2. October 18, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    Perfection! I love these little gems and can eat them until the plate is empty!

  3. October 18, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Perfect choux pastry. Delicious !

  4. October 19, 2010 at 2:01 am

    Your puffs are perfect! Funny you mention filling them. I just visited Lorraine and she made some and filled them with bechamel http://www.notquitenigella.com/2010/10/19/gruyere-cheese-gougeres-filled-with-bechamel

    • crustabakes
      October 20, 2010 at 6:29 am

      What a wonderful idea! Thanks for sharing the link!

  5. October 19, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    you should be real proud of yourself, these puffs just look perfect and I bet delicious! I probably wouldn’t be able to resist!Yvette

  6. October 19, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    Your puffs look great! I don’t have Dorie’s new book but I am dying to buy it!

  7. October 20, 2010 at 6:45 am

    For a moment, I thought I am seeing my favourite mochi bread. These puffs is so nicely puffed and round. I am sure it is yummy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

