Home > Cakes > Brown Sugar Pound Cake

Brown Sugar Pound Cake

I almost didnt want to post this up. Let’s face it, this isnt exactly the most interesting looking cake. It is brown, plain and dull. In fact it is looking kinda ugly.

And no matter which angle i took it from, the pics just refused to come out right. I bent over my back, trying to capture it from an angle that would make it look somewhat prettier, but it didnt work. I gave up, but still uploaded it to the computer anyway, out of habit.

I took a bite of the cake. It was good. Moist, dense, and very flavourful.

I am a sucker for brown sugar, and was absolutely loving the aroma it brought to the cake.

I placed the cake in a cake stand, and left it around for the other family members to eat it. They did, each silently helping him/herself to the slice.

No one commented though, and that’s pretty common, cause i bake almost everyday, and it is quite needless for them to be commenting everyday. And i let it at that, no bothering to ask for opinions as well.

The next morning i cut myself another slice from the now much smaller cake.

The day old cake really impressed me this time. The brown sugar left DEEP marks within the cake and gave the cake such a strong personality. , and boy, that was when i decided that this post HAS to go up.

I am for that  “not all that glitter is gold” thing today. For this definitely didnt glitter, but it still shone!

Recipe from nosh with me

(who adapted from L.A Times) Thanks for sharing!!

*note:  I omitted the glaze as i thought the cake was sweet enough as it is

Cake Ingredients
3 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups (3 sticks) butter, softened, plus additional for greasing the pan
1 (1-pound) box dark brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
5 eggs

Cake Preparation

  1. Heat the oven to 325 degrees. Grease and flour a 10-inch tube pan.
  2. In a mixing bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and salt and stir with a fork; set aside. Into a small bowl, pour the milk and add the vanilla; set aside.
  3. With a mixer, beat the butter at high speed until light and fluffy. Add the brown sugar in three batches, then add all of the white sugar, beating after each addition. Add the eggs one by one, beating well after each addition.
  4. Reduce the speed to low and add half of the flour mixture and then half the milk, beating until the flour or milk has disappeared into the batter. Add the rest of the flour and the rest of the milk in the same way. Quickly scrape the batter into the tube pan and bake until the cake is nicely browned at the edges, springs back when lightly touched at the center and a wooden skewer inserted into the center comes out clean, about 1 hour and 10 minutes.
  5. Remove the pan from the oven and leave it on a wire rack for 20 to 30 minutes. Loosen the cake from the pan with a table knife and turn it out onto a wire rack or plate, then leave it to cool completely. When cool, glaze with caramel glaze.

Glaze Ingredients
2 tablespoons butter
4 tablespoons half and half (I used whole milk)
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Glaze Preparation

  1. In a saucepan over medium heat, melt the butter.
  2. Add milk and brown sugar, stir to combine.
  3. Boil vigorously for 1 minute.
  4. Remove from heat and beat in 1/2 cup powdered sugar.
  5. Cool slightly then beat in the vanilla and remaining powdered sugar, adding more milk if necessary.
  6. Quickly spoon over cake before glaze sets.
Categories: Cakes Tags: , , , ,
  1. October 20, 2010 at 9:23 am

    Hi custabakes,
    This is special and looks really good. I, too, like brown sugar. And will like recipes that has brown sugar. From your description, looks like I’ll have to try this cake. I can’t wait to have one…

  2. October 20, 2010 at 9:31 am

    I know what you mean about some cakes tasting wonderful but not quite looking as exciting as others. Although I have to say this one looks great! 🙂

  3. October 20, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    That’s it isnt it? looks can be deceiving. I guess that is why baking takes so much patience! =)

  4. October 20, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    I love it when recipes surprise you like that by becoming better the next day. It’s always a relief for me too because that means that I made a good thing after all. Your cake may not look spectacular but, it’s as they say, never judge a book by its cover.

  5. October 20, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    I don’t think this looks bad at all! Lots of recipe I make taste better the next day – I wonder why? I love the flavor of brown sugar too – this sounds scrumptious!

  6. A_Tong
    October 21, 2010 at 3:16 am

    Sarah Lee introduced me to the pound cake, nicely frozen from the supermarket. Haven’t had them in years, these photos made me wanna run out and grab some pound cake! Gobble Gobble …

  7. ida
    October 22, 2010 at 7:14 am

    ooo brown sugar! gotta try this.

  8. October 24, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    This cake sounds great for tea break. 🙂

  9. October 25, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    It may not look interesting being dark and dull, but it sounds very interesting to me. I’ll bookmark this.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

