Home > Uncategorized > Candied Orange Slices

Candied Orange Slices

I love the way candied orange look. Their flesh are translucent, and the glossy sheen just seems to catch any light coming their way.

They are supposedly quite easy to make too. You just have to boil, then simmer them in sugared water.

I guess u can pretty much use them wherever you like.

I placed mine on a cake and watched it transform from boring to ravishing!

But while these candied orange are decorational, i have to be brutally honest. They don’t taste that great after all.

Or maybe it’s just mine. I think i might have tried candied orange slices before once or twice in some upscale restaurants. If my memory serves me right, they are supposed to be crunchy, relatively hard and sweet. I guess it might have been like eating on a thin piece of hard candy.

Sadly, my batch didn’t really turn out that way. They were hard and candy-like all right, but they were bitter. I suspect it might have been the way they were prepared.

For a whole orange, i boiled 1/2 cup sugar with some water till they dissolve. I dumped the sliced oranges in and basically just let them simmer till the sugar water mixture turned thick and syrupy.

I let them cool for quite a bit before fishing them out with a pair of chopsticks and laid them on a piece of parchment.

The whole process took barely half an hour. Really, i thought these steps were too quick and easy to make candied oranges. I mean, something’s gotta be done to take away the bitterness of the pit right?

Did i not cook it long enough?

or was there insufficient sugar?

Am i even using the right oranges?

Anyways, i am not providing a link up, because this recipe didn’t really work. Hopefully it will save you from repeating the same mistakes.

So, until i found a better way to make candied oranges, these shall just be props to my cakes.

Props that are conveniently flicked aside while i dive into my cake.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. Mia
    October 31, 2010 at 7:45 am

    Oh i love the way how they look too, and yup u gave that cake something super delish to go with!

  2. A_Tong
    October 31, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    The oranges looked good enough to jar them up and make orange jam for breakfast. Yum.

  3. October 31, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    How beautiful ! I love homemade candied orange 🙂

  4. October 31, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    Too bad it didn’t quite work, but it certainly does look pretty. It’s just the thing to give any cake a lift and make it into something spectacular.

  5. e4s
    October 31, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    So pretty, this a good ideas to decorate cakes 🙂

  6. November 1, 2010 at 1:02 am

    those candied orange slices looks delish and served a great topping for cakes…yummy thanks for sharing and dropping by my blog 🙂

  7. November 1, 2010 at 11:35 am

    I made marmalade from oranges some months ago and it didn’t had a hint of bitterness. It’s because I blanched the oranges before three! times. It really helped. You can read the whole process here, if you are interested: http://coconutandvanilla.blogspot.com/2010_03_01_archive.html
    Hope you have more success the next time, because the oranges look really nice.

  8. November 1, 2010 at 11:46 am

    What an elegant cake with the addition of the candied orange slices! Yum! thanks for stopping by my blog:)

  9. November 1, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    Though candied oranges are such a treat on their own (or dipped in chocolate!), they’re just gorgeous on top of a cake. I must try that, asap!

  10. November 1, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    Such a pretty topping. I love love citrus!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

