Home > Cakes > Blueberry Chiffon Cakes

Blueberry Chiffon Cakes

I am kind of having mixed feelings about chiffon cakes. Though most of the time, i enjoy the light, cottony soft texture, of the chiffon, sometimes though, i feel like i needed something more substantial. Something with more oomph, or something richer (think dense fudgy brownies).

So i tried spicing things up with my blueberry chiffons two ways. One to have it studded with blueberries, and another decorated with fresh blueberries, whipped cream and some icing.

The studded:

Fresh blueberries were folded into the batter before it was poured into the pan.

I for one absolutely adore how the blueberries peeked out of the cake, adding some colours to the otherwise plain brown cake.

A common problem with adding fresh fruits to a chiffon batter, is to have all the fruits sinking down south. Unfortunately, mine sank too. But not entirely, some lucky one managed to stay afloat, but most of them crowd within the bottom half of the chiffon.

Besides sinking, the blueberries also seemed to form mini caves around themselves. I am not entirely sure why this happens. It doesnt seem to apply only to fruits for i have seen cheese forming the same holes within breads. Anyone shed some light ?

Taste wise, the berries provide an unexpected burst of tartness, which go pretty well against the sweetness from the cake. It also added a bit of moistness. I also liked how the colours from the blueberries bled, creating splotches of purplish blue.

Next,

The Decorated:

As the chiffon is incredibly soft, i was not left with much choices when it comes to frosting this cake.

I settled on decorating half the cake with freshly whipped cream and fresh blueberries, and the other half with white sugar icing drizzled over fresh blueberries. Both were light enough for the chiffon to handle. Fortunately.

I also left the batter plain this time. I feel like i shouldnt crowd the cake with too many things and overshadow the chiffon.

So after all that, which is my fave way of eating the chiffon?

I would say i liked my chiffon with the whipped cream. It added an extra moistness to the cake, without overpowering it.🙂

For the recipe, i have used Kokken69‘s (Thanks so much for sharing!). She has the most beautiful pictures in her blog.

Recipe : Adapted from Kokken69

Meringue
Egg White 110g
Sugar 55g
Corn Starch 5g
Egg Yolk Base
Egg Yolk 40g
Water 12g
Grapeseed Oil 36g (or any other neutral oil e.g. canola oil)
Blueberry puree 50g
Lemon juice 6g
All purpose flour55g
Sugar 10g
Blueberry 30g (blueberry should be cut into very small pieces and dried with a kitchen towel. Best option would be dried Blueberry)
Method :
1. Heat oven using convection mode to 160C.
2. In a mixing bowl place egg yolk, blueberry puree, water, oil, lemon juice and sugar. Beat the mixture under well mixed and sugar is completely dissolved. (I do this by using a hand whip)
3. Sift flour into egg yolk mixture and mix well.
4. In a separate clean dry mixing bowl, whip egg white until foamy. Add sugar/corn starch mixture in 3 additions during whipping. Whip egg white until meringue is firm peaks.
5. Add 1/3 portion of the meringue into the egg yolk base. Use a spatula to blend egg white with egg yolk.
6.Add another 1/3 portion of the remaining meringue and blueberries into (5). Use spatula to fold egg white evenly with (5).
7. Add the remaining meringue into (6). Fold the egg white evenly with (6).
8. Pour (7) into a 17cm chiffon pan (do not oil the pan otherwise the batter will not rise).
9. Bake the cake at 160C for 30mins.
I will also be submitting this to Aspiring Baker#1: Chiffon Cakes
This is an event that is hosted by Small Small Baker and for the month of November, she has chosen Chiffon Cakes as the first task. I am really really excited about this event. I have seen other bloggers’ post for this event and am really impressed with what some of them came up with. Thanks Small Small Baker for organizing!
Categories: Cakes Tags: , , , ,
  1. Shirley@kokken69
    November 21, 2010 at 11:48 am

    Thank you for your shout out! Chiffon. Cake with fresh fruits are tricky indeed. They need to be cut into small pieces and floured but that still does not prevent you from getting big holes….The ‘holes’ in your first attempt looks acceptable to me. Well done!

  2. November 21, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    This looks so yummy and the recipe sounds interesting. I’ve never made chiffon before but your pictures make me want to try it.

  3. November 21, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    I love chiffon cake for its lightness! This looks so pretty!

  4. November 21, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    Seriously you have just won my heart! This chiffon cake looks absolutely amazing. I once tried to make a chiffon cake and it was beyond a disaster. Maybe i`ll give it a try later.

    xo

  5. November 21, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    Hi Lina, thanks for supporting this event. The studded and decorated version both look just as good! Hope you can join in for many more months.🙂

  6. DG
    November 22, 2010 at 6:16 am

    I love blueberry, this chiffon must be taste good. You cannot decide which one for your top frosting decoration …. LOL but both version also look pretty good. Nice job!

  7. November 22, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    So lovely… I just adore how light and fluffy your chiffon cakes look. It’s one of the few things I have yet to successfully veganize… But your photos have started me dreaming all over again!

  8. November 22, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    mmm, chiffon cake is goes splendidly with whipped cream. Yours looks delicious. I have an award for you on my blog, I hope you accept it.

  9. November 23, 2010 at 1:07 am

    I had to smile when I saw you made another Chiffon.
    ~ingrid

  10. November 23, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    chiffon cakes are one of the most underrated desserts. I have enjoyed every single slice that I have been given and this one looks so enticing!

  11. November 23, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    I love this pretty cake, including the studding with blueberries and your decoration with cream. I honestly don’t know if I’ve ever tried a chiffon, but it certainly seems delicious!

  12. November 24, 2010 at 1:52 am

    I does look pretty with the blueberries in the cake. I’m sure I’d love it with whipped cream too.

  13. November 24, 2010 at 9:09 am

    I definitely like the decorated one. Great way to dress up a chiffon cake.

  14. November 25, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    I like blueberries, just adore the smell. I would prefer the one with the stuffed blueberries.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

