Home > Uncategorized > Chocolate Peanut Brittle Boo-Boo

Chocolate Peanut Brittle Boo-Boo

It’s getting to be too predictable isn’t it?

That i just had to chocolate coat everything and anything.

And today, it’s peanut brittle.

Toasted Salted Peanuts held together by caramel,

and coated with chocolate,

And sprinkled with coarse grained seasalt.

and broken into shards.

Everything was going pretty well,  then it hit like a wall, and i was shaken out of  my salted chocolate peanut brittle fantasy.

Cause while they the caramel was a gorgeous shade of milky brown, they were harder than nails.

I should have spread the peanuts thinner, and not have such a thick slab. I guess this is what i get for being greedy.

Or maybe it was my caramel sugar, cooked to a temperature too high (300 F)? —–> Can anyone clarify this ?

I had to plunge the tip of my knife, and use my wooden spoon to hammer it in to break them into mini crumbs, then eat with a spoon.

Not a very cool thing to do.

Ps: I will not be posting the recipe for this lil’ misadventure, but pls pls pls, if you have any advice, opinions, and other caramel making tips and tricks, i would glady hear them!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 22, 2011 at 7:56 am

    At least it still looks super good. I’m sure you’ll perfect it for sure.

  2. March 22, 2011 at 9:20 am

    This looks very inviting! I love peanuts!😉

  3. March 22, 2011 at 10:35 am

    Goodness your brittle looks absolutely irresistable.

  4. March 22, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    When you make brittle you have to make sure it’s thin. If you let it get a little cooler so you can stretch it out, it should turn out okay. I’ve only made brittle once, but that looks like it might have been your problem. At least you can use it as an ice cream topping or mix it into a buttercream.

  5. March 22, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    Well it looks pretty!🙂 I have no advice – I suck at candy making! I made a simple caramel sauce yesterday and it took me 3 tries!

  6. March 22, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    That is so weird that you posted this. I did the exact same thing a couple of weeks ago. I meant to have a nice creamy caramel with lots of peanuts, that I would cut into small cubes to dip into milk chocolate. What I ended up with was a hard, brittle to the bite, and painfully chewy chunk. I used a knife and a rubber mallet to cut off shards of “candy,” which went into the trash in the end. I only cooked mine to 242 degrees (F), which I figured was safe, as I usually cook my English toffee to 300 degrees (F). So, I’d definitely say you took it to too high a temp for caramel, but apparently, 242 is even too high. Next time I’ll shoot for 230-235. I’m wondering if it was either the peanuts, or the extra salt from the salted peanuts…

  7. March 22, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    Okay, last post. Here is a link to my caramel recipe that really works well with UNsalted nuts:
    http://food-pusher.blogspot.com/2010/12/walnut-caramels.html

  8. March 23, 2011 at 1:21 am

    I have never tried making brittle and yours look so lovely. You inspire me to give it a try. Thanks for the lovely photos and the recipe.

  9. March 23, 2011 at 1:42 am

    It looks fantastic, but are we talking about brittle or caramel? And I think your temp was too high for caramel. 300 is the hard crack stage. Try again and keep us posted. Good luck!

  10. March 23, 2011 at 4:52 am

    I guess the sugar was and bit thick, it should be hard anyways. I remember in the place where I attended my uni peanut brittle was their local specialty and they are hard which is not recommended for people with false teeth

  11. March 23, 2011 at 9:20 am

    i have no experince in caramel’ i’m sorry that i’m nable to give you any advice. if not for that hard caramel, i think this would be a heavenly treat!

  12. March 24, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Oh my gosh! it just kept getting better the more I read! I love peanut brittle. But cover it in chocolate? Holy cow! YUM! But then the salt kicked it over for me and I about fell out of my chair! This sounds so perfectly delicious!!!

  13. March 24, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    Aw I hate when things don’t turn out the way you want them to. It still looks amazing though. I’d love to try it!

  14. Savannah
    June 14, 2013 at 1:20 am

    Soft ball stage, or carmel is 230, hard crack or brittle is 300. This only counts at sea level though, if you live in Denver, Co like I do you have to cook it to a lower temp.

  1. March 25, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Leave a Reply

