Home > Yeasted Breads > Rotiboys

Rotiboys

What’s the weird saucer looking thing on my plate?

Commonly known as “rotiboys” or “mexican buns”, these UFO looking things took the world by storm quite a few years ago. Most of the people living in Asia would probably need no introduction to these, but for those of you who are unfamiliar, these are actually pillow soft Asian buns with a slightly crispy, coffee scented topping.

In fact, if i were to describe them, these rotiboys are like buns with a piped cookie topping.

They are usually filled with diced unsalted butter. But i decided to stray and filled mine with chocolate… again ( this blog is getting too predictable isn’t it?)

The name  “Rotiboy” is actually a brand which made this type of buns famous, and soon after, the name got attached to the product, just like how tissues are sometimes called “kleenex”

Of course, after seeing the success of Rotiboy,  every other family member wanted a piece of that fame, and names like “mama buns” or “roti papa” came about.

Not that i mind of course, i find that most of these replicas are almost as good as the original Rotiboy.

And this happens to be one of those replicas!

Crispy, cookie skin covering a soft and moist bread with a chocolate filling.

Or can i call it the “Roti Girls”?

RotiBoys

For the Bread Dough

Adapted from and Indonesian Cookbook Roti Unyil by Chendawati (Please pardon my poor translation)

Ingredients A

700 gr Bread Flour

300 gr AP Flour

250 gr Sugar

5 Egg Yolks

2 Egg Whites

150ml Evaporated Milk

275 Iced Water

20 gr Instant Yeast

10 gr Bread Softener *

50 gr Milk Powder

Ingredients B

75 gr Butter

75 gr Margarine

50 gr Butter Substitute

10 gr Bacom (Bread emulsifier) *

15 gr salt

*( I think U can omit this if you like, but i think this really helped in making the bread texture, making it that much softer and moister)

1. Combine Ingredients A till the dough stops sticking all over the surface and starts getting tacky and elastic.

2. Gradually add ingredients B and knead till the dough gets so elastic, you are able to stretch it into a thin membrane skin.

3. Gather the dough into a ball, and leave it covered for its first proofing for about 30 mins.

4. Punch down the dough, and scale the dough into balls weighing 30 grams each. Let them rest for 15 minutes, covered.

5. Roll the dough, fill with chocolate filling, and seal it in.

6. Let it proof for a second time till it doubles in size (60 minutes).

7. Pipe toppings onto the surface of the unbaked dough

8.  Bake at 200 degree CELCIUS till the surface looks crispy and brown (about 10 mins)

 

For the Chocolate Filling

20 gr Cocoa Powder

30 gr Milk Powder

100 gr Icing Sugar

100 gr Margarine

1/2 tsp Vanilla essence

Mix all ingredients together till well combined.

 

For the Coffee Topping

50 gr Buter

50 gr Margarine

100 gr Icing Sugar

100 ml Egg whites

120 gr Cake Flour

20 gr Milk Powder

1 TBS Coffee Paste

 

Mix all ingredients together till they are well combined.

  1. April 2, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    I can’t wait for the recipe! Have never had one and cannot wait to try one!!! Thanks for sharing!

  2. April 2, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    I can’t wait until you share the recipe! They look so soft and delicious, just like the bakery ones. I actually tried making them recently, except my crust didn’t taste that good because I used too much egg (extra large, instead of large). My bread was also a bit flat, but I don’t know why.

  3. April 2, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    Wow, I didn’t know what to make of them until you opened one up. Those look awesome!!

  4. April 2, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    I haven’t seen or heard of these…but they look mouthwatering and your addition of chocolate would win everyone over!Very delicate and dainty! x

  5. April 3, 2011 at 12:04 am

    Those look delicious! I can’t wait for the recipe just like everyone else. Definitely going to give those a try and the chocolate filling sells it for me.🙂

  6. April 3, 2011 at 4:40 am

    I’ve never heard of these, but they really look delicious!🙂

  7. india
    April 3, 2011 at 6:34 am

    I encountered these on my recent trip to Vietnam, in Hanoi. The chocolate filled ones are called “roti socola”, and I have been searching for a recipe for a month now with no luck. I really hope you post one for your look-alikes because they look good.

  8. April 3, 2011 at 7:24 am

    These look so interesting. Soft bread with a cookie crust and chocolate middle, what’s not to like? I can’t wait to try them!

  9. April 3, 2011 at 7:26 am

    Wow I remember this one when I was in Malaysia, the smell of those buns are so tempting when we are walking inside 1Utama Mall.

  10. April 3, 2011 at 7:38 am

    its been awhile since the last time i ate this yummy bread!
    great idea to add chocolate filling – thks🙂

  11. April 3, 2011 at 9:30 am

    It has been a long time since I ate this!! Pls send some over, crustabakes!! Haha…

  12. April 3, 2011 at 9:39 am

    Can’t wait for the recipe too! I still remember I used to join the long queues just to get some fresh rotiboys straight from the oven!

  13. April 3, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    hi, you know something..i just had one yesterday, each time i pass by the rotiboy shop, i just got captured by the smells. Yours look very much like the original rotiboys and nice fillings too!I’m sure your neighbour can also smell these buns while you were baking them!

  14. April 4, 2011 at 12:13 am

    Hmm… I have never had or seen these before, which is odd considering I grew up in Indonesia??🙂 I bet they are yummy though, I love soft bread with filling inside (both sweet and savory!).

  15. April 4, 2011 at 3:04 am

    oh my! Rotiboy looks fantastic with the filling! yumm

  16. April 4, 2011 at 4:19 am

    Wow! This looks and sounds really delicious. I’ve never heard of these before, but if they are really as good as you say they are, I really want to make them.🙂

  17. April 5, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    that look so delicious and i love their bread! i was sooo tempted to try it! ans is bread! my first attempt! sorry, can i check with you what’s AP flour and butter substitute? thank you! (:

    • crustabakes
      April 6, 2011 at 12:22 pm

      Hi Jasmine
      AP flour is short for All purpose Flour. LOL. as for butter substitute, it’s actually a margarine which has been infused with the butter flavourings… I think u can just substitute that with plain margarine if you have problems finding it.

  18. April 5, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    that look so delicious and i love their bread! i was sooo tempted to try it! ans is bread! my first attempt! sorry, can i check with you what’s AP flour and butter substitute? thank you! (:

  19. elletan
    April 6, 2011 at 8:51 am

    Ahhh. I love Rotiboys! It’s everywhere in Malaysia!😀 I can smell them from far away in KLCC. Never had one with fillings before though! Looks great! x

  20. May 10, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    What an interesting recipe. I say go for it and call them rotigirls🙂 They look good and I approve of the chocolate instead of butter. Yum!

  1. April 10, 2011 at 2:14 pm

Leave a Reply

