Home > Yeasted Breads > Buns, buns, buns

Buns, buns, buns

Besides the common round buns, these are some of the other shapes that the Asian sweet bread buns take form

The caterpillar buns

For instructions on how to shape these buns, head over to Happy Home Baking

and,

and the sakura buns. I don’t have a reference on how to shape the sakura buns. But it is pretty easy. You just filling in the dough as per usual, flatten it a bit and using a knife make 5 mini slits around the circumferece bread at regular intervals before you leave it to proof.

Both of the fillings for these buns are made with store bought red bean paste, while the recipe for the dough is the same dough i used for my rotiboy.

The recipe that never fails to produce the softest, and moistest breads.

 

  1. April 10, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    you’re tempting me with those lovely bread again! it look so good, soft and yummy!! (: (: im lovin it!

  2. April 10, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    I love the shape of those caterpillar buns. So fun to see the different shapes.

  3. April 10, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Gorgeous and so tempting! I love the shape of the caterpillar buns. I could easily forget that I think caterpillars are creepy.🙂

  4. April 10, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    These busn looks absolutely amazing and delicious. I simply LOVE this and thanks for including the recipe

  5. April 10, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    They look absolutely perfect!

  6. April 10, 2011 at 11:50 pm

    So cute! Thanks for the link on the instructions🙂

  7. April 11, 2011 at 3:04 am

    What beautiful buns! I just want to eat them all.

  8. April 11, 2011 at 4:13 am

    Okay, your awesomeness, I will try the rotiboy recipe soon. I promise. You’ve sold me, a thousand times over. I can’t do red bean paste. Chocolate, however, is a whole other story.

  9. April 11, 2011 at 6:52 am

    They look gorgeous. I love these kind of buns but they are so hard to find where I live. Will have to try making my own.

  10. April 11, 2011 at 8:01 am

    Those bread looks lovely, if you opened a bakleshop here in NZ I will be an avid customer

  11. April 11, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    you are not only good in cakes but also bread! very nicely shaped!

  12. Rhonda
    April 11, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    Beautiful breads and site. I’d forgotten about roti-buns, why? And thank you for the other links.

  13. firebirdie
    April 11, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    wow! I’m so impressed. You are so prolific in your bakes and makes! Almost one new work every day!

  14. April 12, 2011 at 10:37 am

    Wow those look better than bakery treats! Amazing!

  15. April 13, 2011 at 3:03 am

    These are so beautiful! I have never tried making Asian sweet bread buns before…I think I need to!🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

