Home > Cookies > Easter Cookies

Easter Cookies

Guess who just bought a set of Easter cookie cutters?

All mine!

Can you spot the bunny cookie cutter? That’s my favourite from the set of 5, which include an egg, a tulip, a butterfly and a duck cookie cutter.

While the bunny and the egg are cruxes of Easter, and i can somewhat assimilate that butterflies and tulips probably hang out in the garden where the bunny hid the eggs, i am not too sure about the duck. Shouldnt it be a chicken ?

Anyways, duck or no duck, this is my first time experimenting royal icing. Believe me or not, after baking for donkey’s years, i have never decorated my cookies with royal icing. I guess my track record of retarded looking pipping works might have to do something with it.

I have used meringue powder for the icing instead of egg whites as i was giving these away and i didn’t want to take any chances with salmonella issues. I gotta admit though, that didn’t taste that great, but it wasnt bad enough to stop me from licking the icing off my fingers as i worked with it.

So while these are not the best looking cookies around, i am glad i decided to embark on the royal adventure on the meringue icing, and now, it doesnt scare me that much anymore.

I clung on to every word on Bake at 350 ‘s instructions on the icing. She is truly the Queen of cookie-dom. So do head over to her site for the most beautiful cookies and the most intricate and creative frostings.

  1. April 22, 2011 at 11:36 am

    Cute cookies. Happy Easter Day😉

  2. April 22, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    Love the color of those cute cookies, very pretty🙂
    Happy Easter!

  3. April 22, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    I love seeing how differently people use the same set of cookie cutters! Yours are so cute🙂

  4. April 22, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Awe…so cute!

  5. April 22, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    These are adorable! I love your colors!

  6. April 22, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    Cute cookies, happy Easter Day

  7. April 22, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    Very cute cookies. You did a great job! Great colors too.

  8. April 23, 2011 at 5:23 am

    hey you’re really talented! being a baker doesnt necessarily mean you’re a good artist…for example me HAHAHAH the cookies are a piece of art🙂

  9. April 23, 2011 at 5:26 am

    so cute and lovely! GREAT JOB! this is something that i want to try too (:

  10. sab
    April 23, 2011 at 6:16 am

    just too cute to be eaten!!!

  11. April 23, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    Bring these to the party too!🙂

  12. April 24, 2011 at 2:03 am

    Cute cookies!
    Happy Easter.

  13. April 26, 2011 at 4:48 am

    Lovely! I like the tulip the best. (: Bake at 350 changed my life. I follow her recipes word for word (cookies and icing alike) and, as you know, have become positively decorated cookie addicted.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

