Home > Cakes, Dessert > Very Vanilla One Bowl Cake

Very Vanilla One Bowl Cake

This would be one of the times where “less is more”. A simple Vanilla cake dusted with icing sugar

Using custard powder as one of its ingredients, this cake is very deeply scented with vanilla. Of course, a heavy dose of my homemade vanilla extract doesnt hurt.

This cake turned out rich,moist, and quite chewy. It’s like a cross between a blondie and a butter cake. While i would have preferred this to be more light and fluffy, I liked the gorgeous rich yellow the colour of this cake turned out.  It totally epitomizes the widely used boxed “yellow cake” mix. And making this cake is almost as easy as the mix.

 But what i am loving most about this cake is still the strong vanilla flavour in this.

Quite possibly the best scent around!

Recipe from My Diverse Kitchen : Very Vanilla One Bowl Yellow Cake

  1. April 27, 2011 at 5:48 am

    gorgeous fotos & beautiful presentation. i’m more a cook than a baker, but this post is inspiring me to dust off that bottle of pure vanilla sitting in my pantry!

  2. April 27, 2011 at 7:06 am

    This looks like it tastes so light and yummy! Also using custard powder would make it taste even more better!

  3. April 27, 2011 at 9:39 am

    I love the idea of using custard powder? Crazy. I have never hear of a recipe like this. Where did you source the recipe? It looks lovely.

  4. April 27, 2011 at 11:52 am

    I really love your description of the cake’s texture! It sounds really unique and truly wonderful…and I really love vanilla so I think I’ll be making this soon!

  5. April 27, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    mmm that looks so good! I agree, sometimes you just need something simple.

  6. April 27, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    woo looks heavenly vanilla-ish and delicious! im sure ur kitchen must be filled with the wonderful aroma of the bake🙂

  7. April 27, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    gorgeous! sometimes simple is the best!

  8. April 27, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    Mmmmm…I can smell the vanilla from here! Also, I like anything chewy.

  9. April 27, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    beautiful pictures! and i’m curious to try baking this cake😉 how do you make your “homemade vanilla extract”?

  10. April 28, 2011 at 12:49 am

    I agree, vanilla is the best scent around. My whole family loves “vanilla everything”. This cake will be gone with a blink of any eye in my home. Simple but very pleasing presentation.

  11. April 28, 2011 at 4:07 am

    Just looking at the pictures made my mouth water … another great one!!!

  12. April 28, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    Vanilla is my favorite dessert flavor so the more the better in my opinion! Fabulous cake!

  13. April 28, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    Simply stunning!

  14. April 28, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    Looks incredible, as always!

  15. April 28, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    Mmm, just goes to show that sometimes something simple can be the very best.

  1. April 27, 2011 at 1:24 pm
  2. April 28, 2011 at 2:24 am
  3. April 28, 2011 at 6:25 pm

Leave a Reply

