Home > Cakes, Uncategorized > Cranberry Pistachio Cupcakes

Cranberry Pistachio Cupcakes

While the average person tries to spend as minimal time in the grocery store, i am one of those weirdos who loves to walk through each aisle leisurely.  I dawdle, i deliberate, and i drive my supermarket companion (whoever is unfortunate enough to be with me ) nuts at my unprogressive rate.

It was during one of these trips that i spotted this Pistachio instant pudding mix from Jell-o.

I grabbed one knowing exactly what i wanted it for.

A pistachio cream cheese frosting from my Cream Cheese Jelly Berry Pie. The original recipe was for filling a pie, but the texture was so thick and the taste so creamy that i decided that it would work as a frosting too.

But as an insurance, i did omit out the liquid (milk) in the recipe. I wanted this frosting to be really thick and full flavoured.

And since i was going fancy with the frosting, i didn’t one plain vanilla for the cupcakes. So i took an orange cupcake recipe but subbed the orange juice in it for cranberry juice.

Cranberry Cupcakes with Pistachio Cream Cheese anyone?

It didnt work out so well though, i couldn’t taste the cranberry flavours for one bit. I suggest on using cranberry extracts for this.

Having said that, the real star here is the frosting. Really, it could have been just be a piece of stale bread underneath and it will still taste delicious!

Cranberry Cupcakes:
2 eggs
1 stick unsalted butter
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 cups sifted cake flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup orange juice

  1. Preheat the oven to 190°C (375°F). Line your cupcake pans.
  2. Beat butter with sugar until light and fluffy.
  3. Add in the eggs one at a time, then add the vanilla.
  4. Sift the flour with the baking powder and salt. Mix well.
  5. Combine the milk with the cranberry juice.
  6. Pour one third flour mixture into the butter mixture, then half of the milk mixture. Repeat ending with the flour mixture. Mix well.
  7. Spoon batter evenly among cupcake liners.
  8. Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean. Cool before frosting.

Pistachio Cream Cheese Frosting

1 Can (14 ounces) sweetened condensed milk

1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese

1/4 c cold milk

1 Package (3.4 ounces) Pistachio Instant pudding mix

  1. In a large bowl, beat sweetened condensed milk, cream cheese, and pudding mix for 1 minute.
  2. Spread over cooled cupcakes.
  3. Sprinkle chopped pistaschio and dried cranberries over to prettify!
  1. May 22, 2011 at 5:17 am

    this cupcakes spell christmas to me! hahaha looks yummy🙂

  2. May 22, 2011 at 6:50 am

    Excellent ingedients on this cupcake, nothing that I have seen before. Looks so great!

  3. May 22, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    I love wandering around the grocery store, too! Your creativity is very admirable, love this frosting idea!

  4. May 22, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    You’re so creative. And Jello pudding sure has come a long way since I was a kid. That frosting sounds fabulous.

  5. May 22, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    oh the cream cheese frosting must just be amazing…so unique and i love the way it sounds!!

  6. May 22, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    oh these are so creative and look delicious!

  7. May 23, 2011 at 5:38 am

    I love the combination of cranberries and pistachios. Such pretty colours too

  8. May 23, 2011 at 6:42 am

    Drooling over your cakes, I like the green colour.

  9. May 23, 2011 at 7:55 am

    I had no idea there is such a pudding mix even available! These cupcakes look so pretty!

  10. May 23, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    the colour of the frosting looks really attractive but i think i’ve never come across any pudiing mix at my place here.

  11. May 23, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    My husband loves anything that is flavored with pistachos. I know these will quickly become a favorite of his. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  12. May 23, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    Mmmm…pistachio cream cheese frosting?! Love it! I love anything with pistachios…I bet they taste amazing!🙂

  13. May 23, 2011 at 11:58 pm

    I would have never thought of mixing pudding mix in the frosting.Lovely combination of colors and flavors here.I love pistachios!

  14. May 24, 2011 at 2:11 am

    I spend way too much time in the grocery store as well.🙂 Those cupcakes look wonderful- I love the flavor combination!

  15. May 24, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    I also love to take my time and look through everything while I’m shopping. 🙂 Love the sound of this, pistachio cream cheese frosting sounds amazing!

  16. May 26, 2011 at 4:48 am

    Wonderful! There’s a lot to like here – the cranberry and pistachio flavor combo sound wonderful. And of course, your original frosting. Just the picture brought me back to my childhood and the Jello pistachio pudding we often had for dessert!

  17. May 27, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    These Cranberry Pistachio Cupcakes look so delicious. I can’t walk around every aisle of the grocery store because I would run myself crazy lol. But I understand what you mean because I can do it all day at TJ Mazz.

  18. June 6, 2011 at 2:01 am

    Your cupcakes look tops! Wish I could taste all your yummy treats.

  1. July 8, 2013 at 8:48 am

Leave a Reply

