Home > Pastries, Yeasted Breads > Baguette and Mushroom Crostini

Baguette and Mushroom Crostini

This is ground breaking.

I think i might have cooked (as opposed to baking) today.

And i think i might have liked it!

In fact, i liked it so much that i am gonna focus on the cooking today, and downplay the fact that the cooking lies over homemade, freshly baked baguettes.

Homemade baguettes. That’s pretty groundbreaking too.

I am always baking Asian breads, so this is a bit out of my area. Literally.

But let’s keep that to another day.

So what was cooking anyways?

Sauteed creamy mushroom, flavoured with cheese and garlic

Sure, it’s nothing impressive. But it’s a mile stone for me (I can barely cook an egg!)

They call this arrangement a “crostini”.

And just as i like these crostinis, i think i am liking cooking too!

Mushroom and Swiss Crostini

Recipe from Tomcat in the Kitchen

  1. May 24, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    See you can cook! This is just gorgeous.

  2. May 24, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    Looks amazing! Good job! I am impressed with both your cooking skills and the homemade french bread.

  3. May 24, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    See, you’re a budding savory chef and you didn’t even know it! These look so good!

  4. May 25, 2011 at 7:01 am

    I seldom see you make savoury dishes but when you do it certainly rocks!

  5. May 25, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    I love mushrooms and that creamy sauce looks amazing. Homemade baguette is definitely impressive! I hope we get to hear more about that soon. 🙂

  6. May 25, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    Yay for cooking! It’s fun to branch out, as I’m beginning to learn. I just made my first Pate Brisee for your quiche, and I’m hoping it turns out as tasty as yours! I’ll link to your recipe when I post about it. 🙂

  7. May 25, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    Oh wow. These are making me drool. The photos are just wonderful and I love mushrooms. I wanted to invite you over to show off your crostinis and any of your other recipes at the new linky portion of These Chicks Cooked. Have a fabulous day!
    Katie

  8. May 25, 2011 at 11:16 pm

    I don’t know which one I’m more impressed with; your cooking skills, or the lovely homemade baguette! Either way, you deserve a ‘woohoo!’😛

  9. June 6, 2011 at 2:00 am

    Ooohhh, so elegant.

  10. June 9, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    i’m not sure is this my first time seeing you cooking something but sure this looks good to me!!

  11. pinkpolkadotfood
    June 11, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    This looks delicious!!

  12. June 12, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    Yummmm this looks lovely! Great job! If only my husband liked mushrooms…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

