Home > Cookies > Yam Cookies

Yam Cookies

I’ve used a different flour for these cookies. It’s called the “sagu” flour. It’s a very common flour here in Indonesia.

Derived from the sago palm plant, this flour has properties very much like the tapioca flour. It is starchy and although i can’t verify it, i am pretty sure that this flour falls under the gluten free category.

The use of this flour in cookies calls for the flour to be stir fried before it goes into the cookie batter. I’ve seen recipes using tapioca flour with the same procedure. I wonder why? Does anyone know?

Anyway, as with no protein, or low  protein flours, these cookies came out crumbly and tender. The type of cookies you can break just by lightly pinching them between your fingers.

I’ve flavoured mine with yam paste, and added thick coconut cream to help the dough bind.

Yam and coconut cream go hand in hand. I love the combination of both.

I’ve also added some chopped almonds, just for that mini bits in your bites!

I am wondering though, whether everyone outside Indonesia has heard of this flour?

It sure will be interesting to find out!

Yam Sagu Cookies

100 gram Butter

100 gr icing sugar

1 egg

250 grams sagu flour, toasted. (i dumped mine in a big chinese wok and was left with 225 grams after i was done toasting it)

1 TBS thick coconut milk

yam paste

50 grams chopped almonds

1. Beat butter and sugar till light and fluffy.

2. Add the egg, beat till combined

3. Add the sagu flour, and thin it with the coconut milk if it gets too dry to form a dough. (I used more than what was specified in the recipe)

4. Knead in the yam paste ( I added the yam paste after the egg, before the flour instead. I find this easier rather than having to knead in the coloured yam paste)

5. Add in the chopped almonds (Make sure they are really really fine. Big pieces will clog up your pipping tip)

6. Load your pipping bag with the dough, and pipe a circular wreath onto a pre-lined and pre-greased cookie sheet

7. Bake at 150 degree Celcius for 25 minutes or till cooked.

  1. June 9, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    I don’t think I can get these ingredients where I live in the U.S. But this is just fascinating to me and the cookies look wonderful.

  2. Jillian_R
    June 9, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    THey look very good, but after looking the Sagu flour up online I don;t think I will be able to get the needed ingredients. That is interesting that you have to cook it before adding it to the recipie. THank you for sharing, as they look delicious!

  3. June 9, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    I’ve never heard of a ‘sagu’ flour before but these cookies are definitely unique. They kinda of remind me of meringue cookies.

  4. June 9, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    Never herd of this flour but I am intrigued by the cookies!

  5. June 10, 2011 at 1:12 am

    Those cookies sound so interesting and delicious. Can’t wait for the recipe.

  6. June 10, 2011 at 3:53 am

    Oh please please please post the recipe 🙂
    I have a big bag of sago flour!

  7. June 10, 2011 at 4:06 am

    I know sago but never seen or even heard sago flour. What’s the texture one its cooked? I am a bit curious

    • crustabakes
      June 14, 2011 at 12:32 am

      Actually it looks pretty much the same. Maybe just a tad darker in colour. 🙂

  8. June 11, 2011 at 9:57 am

    I’ve heard of this flour but have never found it here in the US! I’ll have to keep an eye out for it because these cookies look delicious!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

