Home > Cakes > Sunken Chocolate Cake

Sunken Chocolate Cake

Oh no. It can’t be.

This blog hasn’t seen chocolate in weeks!

A rectification of the situation is in order. A quick one preferably, cause even under such dire situations, i still need to get to the office by 9 am.

Okay 9.30 if the boss ain’t around.

Or maybe 9.45 since i needed to make a grand entrance with this cake.

This mysteriously dark, luxurious, rich chocolatey cake.

It started off as a cake, baked in a springform pan.

This cake has seen greater heights when it was still baking in the oven. It reached the brim of the springform.

But take it out of the warm oven, and it starts to sink. That’s the thing with fallen cake, they are supposed to look like crap. But i am kind of liking how this cake turned out. It is charming in its own way. Curvaceous and waisted. Sexy isnt it?

Slice into it and you see a dark, bold and intensely chocolatey cake. I didn’t even have to taste it to know how chocolatey it was. The scent that hit me as i was slicing the cake gave me hints.

Texture wise, it is soft and sponge-like. It’s actually like a super soft sponge cake, but with a taste as rich as a brownie.

It’s like nothing i’ve ever tasted before. You really gotta try this to know what i am talking about!

Sunken Chocolate Cake

Recipe from Happy Home Baking

 

 

 

Categories: Cakes Tags: , , , ,
  1. June 20, 2011 at 6:36 am

    indeed its a sexy cake! yum!

  2. June 20, 2011 at 8:19 am

    Simple yet chocolatey, I love it.

  3. June 20, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    I’m so glad you fixed the situation. Chocolate is necessary at least once every couple weeks.🙂 Looks amazing, by the way. I love the shape.

  4. June 20, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    Oh that’s wonderful looking. Definitely worth waiting out the chocolate drought for that.

  5. June 20, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Oh wow that looks divine. Anything slightly sunken = moist gooey middle🙂

  6. June 20, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    CHOCOLATE! (: never fail to tempt me (:
    psst, send in your mayo bun entry to aspiring bakers hosted by me (:

  7. June 20, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    OHMYGOSH! Send me some of this? Now!

  8. June 20, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    Awww crustabakes.. you know I love my chocolate and this cake is simply DIVINE! I mean the photos are just calling me to make this on next Sunday and you know what? I am going to do just that lol. Love this recipe

  9. June 21, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    I love chocolate, and I love chocolate torte! Serving it with a dollop of cream / vanilla ice-cream always hits the spot amongst the sweet toothed🙂 Your photos have left me drooling and dreaming for this!

  10. June 21, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    Mmmm…That’s a gorgeous hunk of chocolate.🙂 I wish someone had brought this to work this morning!

  11. June 21, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    Now now you are getting me going…. let’s see whether time permits me today to add this onto my list. Looking at it already makes me feel happy.

  12. June 22, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    oh, i think it would still be okay for you to be in the office by 10am..bribe your boss with this cake! he’ll forget the time when he puts this into his mouth!!

  13. July 5, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    Oh . . . my . . . . gosh!

  1. June 20, 2011 at 8:44 pm
  2. June 21, 2011 at 8:45 am
  3. June 21, 2011 at 1:10 pm
  4. October 29, 2011 at 7:35 pm

Leave a Reply

