Home > Pastries, Pies and Tarts > Chicken handpies

Chicken handpies

Making puff pastries intimidates me. I remember clicking the “x” button in resignation on a web page that was trying to fill me in with some basic puff prophecy. It felt like reading an instruction manual on how to assemble a multi tier rack. A rack with its bonus packet of assorted bolts and nuts.

so for the past couple of years, i forged ahead with my baking journey. Carefully sidestepping recipes which included  this elusive pastry. It was okay at first, but it became quite limiting after a while. I felt i was constrained in my baking menu.

I decided it was time to pick up that instruction manual again.

And boy, was it rewarding.

Truthfully, i was all set for disappointment and a tray of greasy, un-inflated dough.  Imagine my sweet delight when i pulled a batch of puffy chicken handpies.

These puffy handpies came companionably with my puffed up my ego. It was one of those moments where i felt like i owned baking. Or that i must be the Martha stewart of my past life.

Well, they weren’t exactly perfect. Some of them burst open at the sides from the fillings. But that’s okay. it just meant whoever picked them up knew exactly what to expect inside the pastries.

A creamy mix of chicken, potatoes, broccoli and carrots. The same filling for my tube-shaped chicken pies actually.

or my chicken pot pie,

In which i filled a ramekin with pie fillings and topped it with a sheet of puff pastry.

Of course, with all that cutting and shaping, you are bound to get a few scraps.

And u know what they say! Waste not, want not…

I egg washed them, sprinkled some sugar and sent them to bake of course!

Chicken Handpies

(This is the exact recipe as my previous post. Just that i served them different)

  1. June 27, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    Glad you tackled this. I always get the store bought, shh. This looks just wonderful to me.

  2. June 27, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    Chicken pot pie with puff pastry is probably my favorite meal! Looks beautiful!

  3. June 27, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    Puff Pastries has always intimidated me as well but these chicken handpies look delicious. I’m glad you posted this

  4. June 28, 2011 at 1:49 am

    Your pastry is so flaky and beautiful!🙂

  5. hanushi
    June 28, 2011 at 6:21 am

    I can see that it is rewarding to have such wonderful made puff pastry!! Well done!

  6. June 28, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    delicious puff pastry, so flaky, yum yum

  7. June 29, 2011 at 1:21 am

    Ooo, the pastry looks so flaky and buttery and the filling sounds delish!

  8. June 29, 2011 at 9:20 am

    Thats so puffy, I know thats hard to make and handle. Great Job

  9. June 29, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    Brilliant job with the puff pastry! I wouldn’t have had the patience and tenacity to tackle it😛

  10. yunita
    June 30, 2011 at 6:22 am

    this is so chickeny brilliant^___^ pufferific! i would never ever ever tackle puff..

  11. July 5, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    I just can’t get over how beautifully golden and flaky your pastry is. Awesome.

  1. July 26, 2011 at 7:22 am

Leave a Reply

