Home > Pastries > Durian Cream Puffs

Durian Cream Puffs

I kept quiet and held my breath as i watched my sisted picked one of these up to eat.

My sister didnt know it, but this cream puff was filled with durian whipped cream. And she absolutely hates durians. I was hoping that it will slide past her and she will eat it unknowingly.

But no such luck it seems. The puff came with a very potent scent that gave it away.  She narrowed  her eyes at me and asked suspiciously “is this durian?”.

A reluctant nod from me and the rest was history.

Notoriously (and deservedly) known as the King of Fruits, durians indeed evoke strong behaviours from its audience. Some cab drivers refuse your business when you are carrying durians. My sister dropped the puff like a hot potato.

On the other extreme though, there are fanatics who anticipate the durian season and participate in “all-you-can-eat” durian buffets. Some go from shops to shops to hunt for the “perfect durian”. 

I guess i am a balance in this nature. I choose to straddle across the fence.

Made of choux pastry, these were filled with whipped cream with durian bits.  It’s really quite interesting to find out how peoples’ reactions are when offered a puff. Just by learning whether they liked or disliked durians, i feel like i got to know them just a bit better.

Between the enthusiasts and the cynics,  i am glad that the recipe yielded me only 8 puffs. Had it been more, i think i won’t be happily lugging an empty box home tonight.

  1. June 30, 2011 at 10:45 am

    I think I tend to straddle the fence too – I like durians but not to the extent of going for buffets and hunting the best ones down – I think I’ll grow sick of them if I had a buffet!

    Yours look really good though – the choux is so well puffed!

  2. June 30, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    These are lovely. I actually like this stinky fruit. What a great idea to disguise it in cream.

  3. June 30, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    strange, i dont really fancy eating durian just like that but always enjoy eating then in bakes like durian cream cakes, cheesecakes, durian puffs..i’ve seen quite of durian puffs posting lately and yours looks just as gorgeous!!

  4. June 30, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    Wow, I’ve never heard of durians, yes I’m American! Now, I’m going to see if any markets carry them here just so I can see what all the fuss is about.

  5. July 1, 2011 at 4:13 am

    love durian! and i love this puff! look so pretty and yummy! (:

  6. A_Tong
    July 1, 2011 at 4:14 am

    Crustabakes gave me some earlier, very creamy, not too sweet, and loveee that stink!

    • Big Sis
      July 6, 2011 at 1:10 am

      Lucky duck!

  7. July 2, 2011 at 9:19 am

    I absolutely love Durian fruit but strangely cant eat things flavoured with it. Love your blog with its original recipes and beautiful photos, you’re very talented!

  8. July 3, 2011 at 2:58 am

    mmmmm i love durians! and puffs, so this was a lethal combination! I’m so itching to make miniature cream puffs now! and by that I mean really miniature. heh heh.🙂

  9. July 3, 2011 at 7:56 am

    I never liked durian at first, I was in Malaysia and people let me try this a lot of times. I never knew that I would start to love it here in NZ where it is expensive.

  10. July 5, 2011 at 4:38 am

    Beautifully done..I like how soft and flaky the crust looks- I have never tasted a durian..infact came to know it from this post only🙂 But I bet I would be satisfied with that puff & cream.

  11. July 5, 2011 at 8:51 am

    They look pretty and am they taste great too.

  12. July 5, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    Those sound very daring.

  13. Big Sis
    July 6, 2011 at 1:09 am

    Wow! I wish I lived in Asia where I could go to a durian buffet. I go crazy for it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

