Home > Cakes > Cracked Sponge Cake and a Recovery Plan.

Cracked Sponge Cake and a Recovery Plan.

I baked a sponge cake today.

And it cracked.

It’s not even a cheesecake,

yet it had the cheek to split so deep right down its middle.

 

The cake looked as if an earthquake went through it.

 

Then i remember my pack of strawberries, frozen in time in my freezer.  

And an idea hit me like a tornado.

Of course!

Making a strawberry jam out of  strawberries.

Then flooding it over the cake.

A disaster recovered,

And a cake survived.

PS: I wont be posting the cracked cake recipe today as i don’t quite think that it is a recipe i would recommend to anyone.

 

 

 

 

Categories: Cakes Tags: , , ,
  1. July 29, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    I’d eat it cracked. But this way is even better.

  2. July 29, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    Thank you for posting this. It makes me feel better when I see amazing cooks have problems sometimes, too. 🙂 Good save, though!

  3. July 29, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    Great post! I love the way you recovered this, and my goodness does it look tasty!

  4. July 30, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    It still looks delicious even with the cracks! I bet the strawberry glaze made it taste great!🙂

  5. July 31, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    You always come up with wonderful things to do to a pastry if it doesn’t look as it should I love this sponge cake

  6. August 1, 2011 at 2:19 am

    I love it when things that seem like a disaster can be saved and in this case turn out looking gorgeous and I’m sure tasted great!

  7. August 1, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    the last picture looks good enough for me, like a piece of strawberry cheesecake!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

