Home > Yeasted Breads > Hot Cross Buns

Hot Cross Buns

I had the “hot cross bun” song in my  head the whole time i was making these. My subconscious brain just seemed to have the song on “repeat”. It was quite annoying actually, considering that it was one of my least favourite nursery rhyme.

But song or no song, i am glad i made these though.

After all, Good Friday and Easter are just around the corner.

Okay, who am i kidding? With about a month or so away, Good Friday and Easter are not exactly around the corner. But after that chocolate rolls, i just wanted to find another excuse to make another batch of ultra soft, ultra moist and ultra chewy yeasted buns.

Plus it’s always good to be armed with a good recipe right?

While the original hot cross bun is spiced and studded with dried fruit, mine was plain, and filled with custard.

The same custard which i used to pipe the crosses over the surfaces of these buns

And like the chocolate rolls, the recipe really lived up to its name and worked its magic again in creating the most tender crumbs and the finest of pores. And I absolutely loved how the subtly sweet soft bread carresed my tongue and the roof of my mouth. These buns are perfect for breakfast, with a cup of tea.

Now, all i need is for the song to stop treadmilling in my head!

Recipe for the yeasted bun Here!

Categories: Yeasted Breads Tags: , , ,
  1. March 25, 2011 at 6:50 am

    Oh yes, it’s that time of the year again! Your hot cross buns look gorgeous! 🙂

  2. March 25, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    Loving your blog!! So glad you’re Freshly Pressed – I’m a new follower!!

    PS. There look amazing and I’ve never tried them with custard (my fave) inside – can’t wait to try them myself!

  3. March 25, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    These would have to be made for a weekend breakfast, so that I have lots of time to sip my cup of tea and take in each yummy morsel of these hot cross buns. Delciious! Yvette x

  4. Pinata
    March 25, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    you are busy baking … hope you are not eating it all 🙂

  5. March 26, 2011 at 4:16 am

    These look light and beautiful. I’ve never had hot crossed buns (although I know the song well). I can’t wait to try them!

  6. March 27, 2011 at 2:23 am

    These look delicious and perfect for any time of year. 🙂

  7. March 27, 2011 at 9:26 am

    This treat is already out in the bakeries and supermarkets here in NZ, but I guess nothing will beat the home made ones.

  8. mysoulforsale
    March 30, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    These look amazing, and a whole lot nicer than the ones I pick up around Easter at the store. Am I blind or did you not post the custard recipe? I’m curious as to what goes in there, because I’d like to give these a try. Thanks!

    • crustabakes
      April 5, 2011 at 4:49 pm

      Hi, so sorry for the late reply, i must have missed your question. I didnt post the custard recipe up as i cheated a bit and used instant custard instead! LOL

  9. March 31, 2011 at 4:05 am

    You are such a prolific blogger! I got busy for a few days & I come back and see a host of posts by you!
    THe buns look great. Remind me of the time I made some last year & that I need to make them again!

  10. March 31, 2011 at 11:35 am

    ooohhh yum. That looks delicious. I have had that song stuck in my head for days. I know your pain!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment