Home > Cookies, Dessert > Cat’s Tongue Cookies

Cat’s Tongue Cookies

I guess it’s quite obvious how these cookies got its name. The cat’s tongue cookies can probably trace its origins from Spain, and are identified by their signature cat’s tongue shape.

These cookies are light, buttery and crisp. There is a very satisfying crunch as i bit into one, almost like eating a potato chip.  I suspect the lightness of these cookies came from all the beaten egg whites, which is rather unusual in a cookie recipe.

Despite its Spanish origin, these cookies are very popular in Indonesia, and come Chinese New Year, you can probably lap at these cookies at every household you choose to visit.

While these cookies are usually served plain, in its buttery glory, i have added a lil tongue twister into my versions.

The dual tone Cat’s tongue cookies, easily achieved by flavouring half of the cookie batter with chocolate. I loaded up my pipping bag with both batters before squeezing the two cookie batter onto the awaiting cookie sheet.

I love the taste of these cookies, it’s part vanilla, part chocolate and all buttery. YUM!

Then i made a blueberry flavoured version of the cookies, simply just by pipping a strip of bluberry jam onto the unbaked cookie dough. The jam will dry up and turn sorta chewy and it adds a very nice blueberry flavour to the otherwise very buttery cookie. Of course i am not complaining about that very buttery cookie, i am just saying it makes quite a refreshing contrast. 🙂 In fact, if i were to make this again, i will be sure to pipe a fatter line of a jam down my cookies.

I am also entering these cookies into Aspiring Baker #3 My favourite CNY Cookie hosted by J3ss Kitch3n. Thanks to J3ss for hosting the wonderful event! I can’t wait to see what the others come out with!

Cat’s Tongue Cookies by Me!

250 gr unsalted butter

200 gr castor sugar

225 gr AP flour

150 ml (about 5) egg whites

1 TBS Vanilla extract

Some Chocolate paste

1. Beat butter and sugar till light and fluffy.

2. Add egg whites gradually and beat till it turns even more light and voluminous.

3. Add in vanilla and beat till well mixed

4. Fold in flour

5. Divide batter into half and add chocolate paste into one of that half

6. Fill your pipping bags with batter (half chocolate, half white if you are attempting the duo coloured cookies)

7. Pipe onto greased cookie sheet

8. Bake at 350 for about 18 mins or till they turn dry and crisp.

  1. January 10, 2011 at 11:17 am

    Wow, I love your cat’s tongue cookies. Can I ask since the cookies is so thin & crisp, will it be difficult to remove from parchment paper after baking?

    • crustabakes
      January 17, 2011 at 5:43 am

      Hi cathy, i didnt use parchment for these cookies, just straight onto the cookie sheet. 🙂 They remove quite easily, but i did grease them like crazy!

  2. January 10, 2011 at 11:54 am

    I love these cookies! I had no idea they were originally from Spain!

  3. January 10, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    Yummy ^_^
    Delicious and beautiful photos 😉
    Sonia

  4. January 10, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    woah! i love the duel tone! looks so crispy and yummy!

  5. January 10, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    These cookies look really delicious and I love all your variations — expecially the chocolate/vanilla version!

  6. January 10, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    Totally imagining the taste of these cookies in all their wonderful variations! Wish I had a cup of tea and a plate of cookies right now! They look delicious and crispy light!

  7. DG
    January 12, 2011 at 9:13 am

    Love this! My favourite cookies too 🙂

  8. January 13, 2011 at 7:21 am

    I remember seeing these awhile ago and finding the name and look fascinating. Glad they’re so tasty. I will be trying them for sure :).

  9. January 13, 2011 at 9:07 am

    If i start eating this, i will not be able to stop!

    So light, so delicious and so easy to eat! I love all your versions!

  10. January 14, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    What lovely, delicate little cookies. I especially like the dual version of it.

  11. firebirdie
    January 19, 2011 at 7:42 am

    hello! these look so delish! Reminds me of French tuile. I was wondering if you could help me out with a few questions?

    (1) What’s AP flour? pardon if this question sounded silly. I’m a baking noob. haha :p

    (2) What kind of piping tip/nozzle did you use for them? Did you have to spread the batter/dough after piping?

    Thanks!

    • crustabakes
      January 19, 2011 at 2:24 pm

      hi there, dont worry about asking questions, i too started out as a beginner, 🙂
      1. AP flour is short for All purpose flour. It is the most common flour out there!
      2. i didnt use any tip, i just cut my pipping bag and piped straight onto the baking sheet without spreading the batter. The batter will spread on its own in the oven as the butter melts. 🙂
      I hope this helps, goodluck!

  12. yunita
    January 31, 2011 at 2:15 am

    GIVE ME ONE OF THOSE………..

  13. Jasmine
    January 3, 2012 at 5:17 am

    Hi, stumbled upon your website via SSB. Receipe looks interesting and I would like to try it.

    Two questions:
    1. ‘bake at 350’, that meant 350F or deg cel? I suppose it is the latter right?
    2. Preheat oven?

    I just started out baking. So instructions are impt to me at this stage. hehe..
    thanks!

  1. January 31, 2011 at 6:17 am

Leave a comment