Home > Cookies > German Crunch Cookies

German Crunch Cookies

This cookie seems to be a hot favourite item for the upcoming Chinese New Year. I have seen many bloggers featuring this item whilst i do my routinal rounds from blogs to blogs.

I hopped into the bandwagon, made these cookies and instantly saw light. It’s no wonder at all why people are fervently making these, for it is only the most buttery, soft, and crumbly cookies i have ever made.

If you were wondering why potatoes are one of the props featured today, it’s because i used potato starch for this cookies. Of course, the potato starch are store bought for i couldn’t possibly made potato starch from these real potatoes. LOL!

Anyway, this is actually my first experience with potato starch, the texture is very much like its cousin made of corn, the corn starch. I guess this potato starch in the recipe is what made these cookies extra crumbly.

Oh, and a word of advise on the crumbly, u definitely want to make these bite sized so that u can pop the entire  cookie into your mouth. Because you will leave a trail of cookie crumbs if you tried eating these in a couple of bites, and I am guessing you don’t want to have to sweep after yourself, or to piss whoever it is who cleans up after your.

Melt-in-mouth German Cookies 德式酥饼
(Recipe taken from Small Small Baker)
Ingredients (makes 60 pieces)

125g butter
40g icing sugar, sifted
125g potato starch
80g superfine flour (I use plain flour, tried out both 50g and 80g, both good)

Method

1. Beat butter and icing sugar till fluffy and lighter in colour.

2. Sift in potato starch and flour, mix to form a soft dough.

3. Roll into small balls (about 2cm in diameter), arrange on lined baking pan and press lightly with a fork (dip the fork in water after each press to prevent cookie dough from sticking to the fork).

4. Bake in preheated oven at 170 deg C for 15 mins, upper rack (need not bake till cookies turn brown).

  1. January 18, 2011 at 6:19 am

    I just love cookies that melt in your mouth. They look so good that I think I’d eat the crumbs too. I’m going to be starting a new linky party starting this Friday night called “Sweets for a Saturday.” You should come by then and link these up.

  2. January 18, 2011 at 6:39 am

    beautiful!

  3. DG
    January 18, 2011 at 7:30 am

    Saw this the fourth time, seems these cookies are IN this year. Made me want to try too 🙂

  4. January 18, 2011 at 8:13 am

    Oooh lovely! I too have seen this so many times in various blogs! I love how white and pristine they look. Glad they were yummy!

  5. January 18, 2011 at 9:12 am

    Lovely!!! 🙂

  6. January 18, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    I love melt-in-your mouth cookies and these look great! I’ve never baked with potato starch, so I would really love to give it a try!

  7. January 18, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    Beautiful pictures. I have never used potato starch before in cooking. I will have to try it sometime.

  8. January 18, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    Oooh, I wonder if tapioca flour would for these… they look fabulous!

  9. January 18, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    These look like the perfect bite! Afternoon tea anyone?

  10. January 18, 2011 at 11:34 pm

    It’s so good and addictive that I just pop it in your mouth non-stop. Already made more batches for the new year. 🙂

  11. January 20, 2011 at 9:29 am

    nice cookies … makes me want to make too.

  12. January 21, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    Beautiful, I’m gonna try someday~ 🙂

  13. Amy
    January 25, 2011 at 10:35 am

    These cookies are beautiful. I love crumbly and melt in the mouth type of cookies! I gotta try out your recipe soon.

    I’m having the very first giveaway on my blog. Please stop by to submit an entry. Good luck.

    http://utry.it/2011/01/happy-birthday-to-meand-very-first.html

  14. KK
    May 29, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    These look like wonderful cookies! Would be pleased if you could supply measurements in volume rather than weight – to apply to U.S. cooking methods. Thank you!

  15. August 6, 2012 at 11:26 am

    These local cassava (or tapioca) flours are not well suited for use in baking applications which are based on wheat flour in the rest of the world, including North America.

  16. Mel Ester
    January 8, 2013 at 2:50 pm

    Omg this melts in mouth like ***** i love the white coloring its is just fab and is very romantic to feed to your one ahhhhhhhhhhhhh

  17. Andrew
    January 23, 2013 at 11:10 pm

    Tried it today. They looked beautifully and tasted great! But… well… you know – wives! She ate all of them, poor me 😉
    Thank you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment