Home > Cookies, Dessert > Chocolate-Almond Buttercrunch Toffee

Chocolate-Almond Buttercrunch Toffee

I cant describe the wonderful crunch that comes with every bite of this toffee. You can probably hear someone biting into this 3 metres away from the site of action. it’s pleasantly brittle and it snaps with just the lightest pressure.

I am attributing this perfection to the a little device called the candy thermometer. I am sure many of you have experienced the nerve-wracking, chaotic guesswork involved in cooking sugar. I am for team thermometer and really, a candy thermometer really saves you from all these hassle and gives u the most awesome caramel for the most awesome buttercrunch toffee.

What’s of that awesome buttercrunch toffee anyways?

It’s a layer of almond, over which you pour that gorgeous, snappy caramel, and over which u sprinkle chocolate.

Did you get that?

Let me rephrase…

A layer of lightly toasted almonds are welded together with hot caramel. Chocolate chips are then strewn over the hot caramel to melt slightly before it is spread with a spatula.

Chocolate and Caramel. YUMM!

Oh, and let’s not forget that sprinkle of seasalt. Excluding the seasalt in this is like not inviting your mom to your graduation day, a situation almost tragic, at least for me anyways.

Although these cookies are hardly Chinese, and probably never a part of the usual CNY cookie platter,  I am including this in Aspiring Baker #3, My Favourite Chinese New Year Cookie hosted by Jess from J3ss Kitch3n. Just because i think these cookies are THAT good, and we’ve been taught to share good stuffs!

Chocolate-Almond Buttercrunch Toffee

Adapted from The Perfect Scoop

by David Lebovitz

2 cups (8 ounces, 225 g) toasted almonds or hazelnuts, chopped between ‘fine’ and ‘coarse’
2 tablespoons water
1/2 cup (1 stick, 115 g) salted or unsalted butter, cut into pieces
a nice, big pinch of salt
1 cup (200 g) granulated sugar
1/4 cup (50 g) packed light brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
5 ounces (140 g) bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped, or 1 cup chocolate chips

optional: Roasted cocoa nibs and fleur de sel

1. Lightly oil a baking sheet with an unflavored vegetable oil.

2. Sprinkle half the nuts into a rectangle about 8″ x 10″ (20 x 25 cm) on the baking sheet.

3. In a medium heavy-duty saucepan fitted with a candy thermometer, heat the water, butter, salt, and both sugars. Cook, stirring as little as possible, until the thermometer reads 300 F degrees. Have the vanilla and baking soda handy.

4. Immediately remove from heat and stir in the baking soda and vanilla.

5. Quickly pour the mixture over the nuts on the baking sheet. Try to pour the mixture so it forms a relatively even layer. (If necessary, gently but quickly spread with a spatula, but don’t overwork it.)

If using, sprinkle with a small handful of cocoa nibs and a flurry of fleur des sel. Sprinkle the remaining nuts over the chocolate and gently press them in with your hands.

Cool completely and break into pieces to serve. Store in an airtight container, for up to ten days.

Categories: Cookies, Dessert Tags: , , ,
  1. January 19, 2011 at 7:02 am

    this is so divine Lina! please send some my way!

  2. January 19, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    Irresistible.. *slurp* kekeke =)

  3. January 19, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    Yea! I have all the ingredients in the house to make this!! So excited!

  4. January 19, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    Toffee is one of my favorite candies and yours looks wonderful with the nutty almonds…delicious!

  5. January 22, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    I love your idea of putting the almonds on the bottom. Why have I never thought of that when making toffee. This really looks fantastic. By the way, the dessert linky is now up. I hope you’ll be able to stop by and link up something delicious.

  6. January 23, 2011 at 1:28 am

    This buttercrunch toffee looks absolutely addictive! I have a feeling that when I make this I won’t want to share. I’m so glad you visited my blog so that I could find yours- you have so many wonderful treats here! 🙂

  7. January 24, 2011 at 2:43 am

    So glad you shared this one it looks fabulous. I’m a huge thermometer fan too.

  8. January 24, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    By all means, if you’ve made more than one sweet treat during the week, there’s no need to make a hard decision. Add ’em both. The more the merrier. Thanks so much for linking up and for your sweet comments. I really appreciate the support. I hope you’ll be able to join in again next week.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment