Home > Pastries, Pies and Tarts > Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse Tart

Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse Tart

Oh lordy lord. I have just made a tart.

And boy, was it good.

Can i tell you all about this pie? Pls say yes, i feel like i will burst if i don’t.

Let’s start with the crust. The crust tastes just like peanut butter cookies. See the cookies on the side? Those are made from leftover tart dough, and they are good enough to be eaten as they are.

But cookies are not the topic for today. Today, it’s about a certain tart, a chocolate peanut butter mousse tart.

That’s the peanut butter mousse, all smooth, silky, soft and luscious. This mousse makes me go weak in my knees and my head swoon like a top.

I just love recipes that totally scale to what you just need. This recipe makes just enough tart dough to make a full tart (and a few cookies), while the mousse recipe was just enough to fill up that tart.

Frankly speaking, i was quite hoping that there will be some mousse left for me to dip my spatula into and lick off.

But let’s be disciplined adults here. Good things will come. Soon.

Chocolate ganache over peanut butter mousse. I don’t think i need to convince anyone.

Next, comes the hardest part of the steps in the recipe- Refigerating this tart (2 hours at least) to set.

I am sorry, i didn’t do that. I popped it into the fridge, and went to read some Archie Comics.

I lasted about 15 minutes, and came back with a knife in my hand.

So now, please please please do not fault this perfect pie for my impatience. This pie WILL cut cleanly if i didn’t muck around with it too soon. Trust me, i had another slice two hours later,  because i wanted to see whether it set as it was supposed to (what a lame excuse!).

For now, let’s just be contend with a half set pie.

Chocolate-Peanut Butter Mousse Tart Recipe

(Taken from David of Leite’s Culinaria)

Ingredients

| metric conversion

For the peanut butter mousse
  • 7 tablespoons cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream, softly whipped
For the milk chocolate ganache
  • 3 ounces milk chocolate
  • 2 ounces bittersweet  chocolate
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • 1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

Make the peanut butter mousse

1. In the bowl of a standing mixer, preferably fit with the whisk beater, beat the cream cheese, peanut butter, and sugar just until the mixture is uniform in color. Reduce the speed to low and add the vanilla. Beat in 1/4 cup of the whipped cream just until it is incorporated. With a large rubber spatula, fold in the rest of the whipped cream, mixing until the mixture is well blended but still airy.

2. Scrape the mousse into the sweet peanut butter cookie tart crust and smooth the surface so that it is level. (If the dough is rolled to the exact thickness specified, the filling and ganache amounts will be exact. If the dough is rolled a little thicker, there will be a little leftover filling and ganache.) Refrigerate the tart while preparing the ganache.

Make the ganache topping

1. Break the milk and bittersweet chocolates into several pieces and place in the bowl of a food processor fit with the metal blade. Process until the chocolate is very finely ground.

2. Bring the cream to a boil in a small saucepan over medium heat or in a heatproof glass measure in the microwave. With the food processor’s motor running, pour the hot cream through the feed tube into the chocolate mixture. Process until smooth, scraping the sides of the bowl once or twice, about 15 seconds. Add the vanilla and pulse a few times to incorporate it. Transfer the ganache to a bowl. Cool to room temperature.

Assemble the tart

1. Pour the ganache over the peanut butter mousse in a circular motion, being careful so that it does not land too heavily in any one spot and cause a depression in the mousse. Using a small metal spatula, start to spread the ganache to the edges of the pastry, then spread it evenly to cover the entire surface of the tart. If desired, make a spiral pattern by lightly pressing the spatula against the surface and running it from the outside of the tart to the center. Refrigerate the tart for at least 2 hours to set or up to 5 days. (You can wrap the tart well and freeze it for up to 3 months.)

2. Remove the tart from the refrigerator at least 15 minutes before serving. Unmold the tart and cut it with a sharp, thin-bladed knife, dipping it in hot water after each slice. It is as good lightly chilled as it is at room temperature.

Sweet Peanut Butter Cookie Tart Crust Recipe

Ingredients

| metric conversion

  • 1/2 cup (2.5 ounces) bleached all-purpose flour (dip and sweep method)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/16 teaspoon salt (um, that’s a pinch)
  • 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons sugar, preferably superfine
  • 4 tablespoons (2 ounces) unsalted butter, cold, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1/2 cup smooth peanut butter, preferably Jif, at room temperature
  • 1/2 large egg (beat the egg lightly before measuring out half of it, which ought to weigh .8 ounce)
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

1. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt.

2. If using a food processor: In a food processor with the metal blade, process the sugars for several minutes or until very fine. With the motor running, add the butter cubes. Add the peanut butter and process until smooth and creamy, about 10 seconds. With the motor running, add the egg and vanilla and process until incorporated. Scrape the sides of the bowl. Add the flour mixture and pulse just until incorporated.

If using an electric mixer: In a mixing bowl, beat the sugars until well mixed. Add the butter (you’ll need to softened it slightly) and peanut butter and beat for several minutes on medium-high speed until very smooth and creamy. Add the egg and vanilla and beat until incorporated, scraping the sides of the bowl. Reduce sped to low and gradually beat in the flour mixture just until incorporated.

3. Scrape the dough into a bowl and refrigerate for at least 1 hour or up to overnight.

4. Press the dough evenly into the tart pan. (It is a little more challenging, but faster and neater to roll the dough out between sheets of plastic wrap to about 1/16 to 1/8 inch thickness and 11 1/2 inches in diameter. Remove one piece of plastic, invert the dough into the tart pan, and gently ease the edge of the dough inside the pan so that the sharp top surface does not cut it off.) Use a piece of plastic wrap to gently and evenly press the dough into the pan, pressing it against the sides. If the dough softens and sticks, refrigerate it until the plastic wrap doesn’t stick. If the dough tears, simply press it together or use the scraps to press into any empty areas. Cover the tart pan with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 1 hour or up to 1 week. (You can wrap the unbaked crust well and freeze it for up to 3 months.)

5. Bake the tart shell, without weights, in a preheated 375°F (190°C) oven for 10 to 12 minutes, or until golden. It will puff at first and then settle down toward the end of baking. The sides will be soft but spring back when touched gently with a finger. Cool on a wire rack.

  1. February 27, 2011 at 7:13 am

    Wow that tart looks really awesome!

  2. February 27, 2011 at 9:24 am

    The name alone had me drooling and then I saw the pictures – wow! Looks so so good. I’ve just had breakfast but now I’m craving a slice of that tart. The peanut butter mousse looks so decadent. Yum!

  3. bergamot
    February 27, 2011 at 11:36 am

    The tart looks amazing, love the creamy filling topped with chocolate.

  4. February 27, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Fantastic tart. I am surprised you lasted 15 minutes. 10 would have been my max.

  5. February 27, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    I love this! Simply yummy!

  6. roundpegsquarehole
    February 27, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    looks absolutely delicious! plus i love the peanut butter and chocolate combination!

  7. February 27, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    Lol, the way you talk about this tart…it’s like a romance novel! 🙂 I can see why…it looks good enough to fall in love with.

  8. February 27, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    Oh wow, has this stolen my heart! Every component sounds amazing, especially that peanut butter cookie crust!

  9. February 27, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    I love how you started with a cookie crust, then layered on the peanut butter filling, and topped it off with CHOCOLATE!!! I love this! 😀

    xoxox
    Kathleen

  10. February 27, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    I don’t know how you lasted the 15 minutes! This recipe had me drooling! I can’t wait for an event, that I can make this for!

  11. February 27, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    I’m sitting down as I too am weak in the knees with this glorious post!!! You made it about 12 minutes longer than I would have, but I would have stuck it into the freezer thinking I would speed the chill. Decadent!!
    When I was in college in San Francisco some 20 years ago, my friend and I would stop in Tiburon at a restaurant called Sam’s for peanut butter pie. I’ve been searching for all these years for the perfect recreation, and yours sure looks like it’s a contender!!! Thank you!

  12. February 27, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    This tart looks incredible!! My favorite combination too! Mmmm…Love it! 🙂

  13. February 27, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    Sooo yummy, I love chocolate and peanut butter! Your photos are great!

  14. February 27, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    Delicious! I am the same way when it comes it waiting for something to set. I am sooo impatient, long recipes aren’t meant for me, but I still want to try this out!

  15. Nichole
    February 27, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    Goodness. I’m one of those weird no-dessert-necessary people. But this is just making me itch to get out in the kitchen and start baking. I only have a 9-inch tart pan; it kinda looks like your tart is smaller than that but I can’t tell for sure. Should I try doubling the recipe?

    • Nichole
      February 28, 2011 at 9:55 am

      NM, you said it right there in the instructions to roll out the crust into an 11.5-inch circle My tart pan will work just fine!

      • crustabakes
        March 2, 2011 at 1:25 am

        Hii, so sorry for the late reply, i guess u got everything figured out already? I hope ur tart was a success! 🙂

  16. February 27, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    Wow, what a fantastic-looking tart! My hubby would love this!

  17. jo
    February 28, 2011 at 12:40 am

    An absolutely gorgeous tart with PB and chocolate combination!

  18. February 28, 2011 at 2:26 am

    This looks DIVINE. I loooove peanut butter in all forms and this fits the bill. Can’t wait to try it!!!

  19. February 28, 2011 at 3:18 am

    The tart looks lovely!!!

  20. February 28, 2011 at 6:32 am

    I’M DYING! I MUST MAKE THIS NOW!!!

  21. February 28, 2011 at 7:06 am

    Oh wow.. this looks totally awesome. Need to try this soon!

  22. March 1, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    you sounded so excited about this tart..just the name itself is irresistible..delectable!

  23. March 2, 2011 at 2:52 am

    ow!!! yum yum 😛

  24. amy
    March 2, 2011 at 7:22 am

    Your PB mousse tart looks and sounds delicious! Can’t wait to try your recipe!

    I’m hosting the Culinary Smackdown Battle for March–the theme is Cookies. Would you like to join in for the fun? It doesn’ have to be a new post on your blog. You can pick your favorite cookie from your previous post too. All you have to do is link up your cookie creation. I have some great prizes waiting. Hope to see your entry soon!

    Amy
    http://utry.it/2011/03/culinary-smackdown-battlecookies.html

  25. March 15, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    Oh yum! So incredibly delicious!

  26. March 20, 2011 at 2:44 am

    This tart is perfect. Your photos are beautiful

  27. March 25, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    I cannot believe how good this looks! I’m definitely adding this to my to-do list!

  28. May 20, 2011 at 2:57 am

    I made this last week. It was really good. I used my own tart crust and chocolate ganache. Your peanut mousse is truly fantastic! My family members just raved about it! Thanks so much for sharing your recipes! 🙂

  29. Nora
    August 4, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    This looks simply amazing. Can’t wait to try it! I can only hope to get it to look like that! What size tart pan is that? Did it have the removable base? I found a tart pan at my local foodie shop, but it looks quite different than that. Will it work? I’m a novice at any style of baking, but I am learning through your blog. Love it!

    • crustabakes
      August 5, 2011 at 10:33 am

      Hi Nora, my tart pan is about 15 cm, i think i might not have used the whole crust mixture. I had leftovers to make cookies from. But it does have a removable bottom. So good luck baking!

  30. Amber
    August 9, 2011 at 1:33 am

    I loved this tart! I just made if for my family and it was such a success!!! Thank you for sharing your recipe!! But I was wondering how you got the crust out of the pan?

    • crustabakes
      August 9, 2011 at 11:50 am

      Hi Amber,
      I used a pan with a removable bottom for this..

  31. December 22, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    That looks divine! I wouldn’t be able to wait for the darned thing to set up either. I’m going to try the PB mousse as a filling in a birthday cake recipe for my dad. 🙂

  32. Michele
    May 10, 2012 at 8:36 pm

    I am going to try this peanut butter choco mousse in a waffle bowl. I can picture it now.

  1. February 27, 2011 at 12:29 pm
  2. March 10, 2011 at 7:20 am
  3. June 22, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Leave a comment