Home > Candy > Saltine Cracker Toffee

Saltine Cracker Toffee

How would you categorize these?

Are they cookies?

 

Or more like Candies?

I say candies.

Growing up, i have always had a preference over candies with a little crunch on it. The crunch could be anything from  rice krispies studded candy bars, or even the cookie bits from Hershey’s cookies and cream chocolates.

These saltine cracker toffee, with the saltine cracker bases promised just the crunch that i was looking for in my candies. And of course, with the word “salt” in “saltine”, these crackers are savoury. I am a religious dessert salt sprinkler, so you can pretty much guess how this candy is totally up my alley.

So there we have it. Savoury saltine crackers  blanketed with toffee and given another coat of chocolate.

Do you think you are ready for that?

Using dark brown sugar instead of the regular white, the toffee colour came out a perfect amber. The rich colour was reflective of the stronger caramel, and buttery taste. Everything was good, except for the fact that you gotta wrestle a bit with the toffee. The toffee is slightly sticky. Just slightly though, nothing major.

So the next time i am making these, i will be sure to practice a little restraint, and cook my sugar just a little longer before i pull it out of the oven. I would also wanna spread the toffee just a bit thinner. I think reaching the hard candy stage and a thinner layer of the  toffee would give it the light, brittle snap rather than a chewy one that was kinda tacky. It will at least be something that my dentist would approve of a little bit more.

So till then, these will have to do. And of course, let’s not forget my crazy fixation over the extra salt over the chocolate. I wouldn’t even consider it as being optional.

40 salted saltine crackers or enough to line your pan
1 cup unsalted butter
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 cups milk chocolate or semisweet chocolate chips
(optional) 3/4 cup chopped pecans

*You can either use salted butter or salted saltines but not both. I used salted crackers and unsalted butter in this one.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and line a cookie sheet or jelly roll pan with saltine crackers in a single layer. 
 
In a small pot combine sugar and butter and bring to a boil. Once mixture is at a boil, continue boiling for 3 minutes. Mixture should be a deep caramel color. Immediately pour over saltines and spread to cover crackers completely.

Bake at 400 degrees 5 to 6 minutes. It will get all bubbly. Remove from oven and sprinkle chocolate chips over the top and let sit a couple of minutes to melt. Sometimes I melt the chocolate chips in the microwave for about 1 minute then spread it on. Spread melted chocolate and top with chopped nuts if desired. Cool completely and break into pieces.

  1. April 4, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    I have a recipe for toffee that I make during the holidays but it tends to be overly sweet, still tasty but you can only eat a little piece because of the sweetness. I cannot wait to try this recipe as I too love the salty and sweet combination. Thanks for sharing!

  2. April 4, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    sweet and savory – how perfectly wonderful & intriguing. love the idea!

  3. April 4, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    hi, this is so yummy!
    ive an award for u: http://iloveicookibake.blogspot.com/2011/04/soft-delicious-buns-another-award.html
    do check it out when u’re free ya
    thks 🙂

  4. DG
    April 4, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    This is really sinful but delicious! Anymore left?

  5. April 4, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    My brain was in a fog all morning today and as soon as I looked at this recipe, I felt woken up with excitement! I can make these right now!! WHOO HOO! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

  6. April 4, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    I love the combo of salty and sweet, and these are the ultimate expression of that! What a yummy snack or dessert. Thanks for sharing!

  7. April 4, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    This sounds interesting, I’ve never thought of turning saltines into candy before. I may have to give this a try!

  8. April 4, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    I’ve seen a variation of these before and I always wanted to try them (another item on the to-do list, like many creations on your blog). The picture of the chocolate oozing through the holes in the cracker is pure bliss.

  9. April 4, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    Oooh, sweet and salty. How perfect.

  10. April 5, 2011 at 1:19 am

    you make this divine looking dessert looks so simple and easy to make! i went for this cooking demo few months back and the chef said that salt in sweets are in fashion now hehe

  11. April 9, 2011 at 2:03 am

    Wow, those look amazing! I may have to try them out — as I love a good salty sweet. What a great idea. 🙂

  12. April 10, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    You know, I wouldn’t know what to call these.. cookies or what. But I can tell you they are a delicious snack. Nice recipe for this saltine toffee

  1. April 22, 2011 at 12:24 pm
  2. May 3, 2011 at 6:49 am
  3. March 9, 2013 at 9:19 pm

Leave a comment