Home > Candy, Cookies, Dessert > Cookie Dough Truffles

Cookie Dough Truffles

This post is inspired by the cookie dough with the hard boiled egg i made yesterday. Even though it was unbaked, using cooked egg means that it was salmonella free and safe for consumption.

Shamefully, no one but the bakers know the wonders of unbaked cookie dough. The rest had to eat it baked.

This cookie dough truffles however, will change that.

With no raw egg, and no raw flour, these are even safer havens for the people around me to have a taste of the uncooked cookies that i (the baker) get to indulge in every now and then.

There is a couple of  much experimented (and proven) equations that i’ve had since i started baking. They go something like this.

Peanut Butter + Chocolate = Winner.

Chocolate + Salt = Bigger Winner.

These truffles, composed of the three components of peanut butter, crushed salty pretzel sticks and chocolate chips just scored a hat trick.

They are then enrobed in more chocolate, and (if you fancy), sprinkled with more sea salt. Yes, i tend to get over-indulgent.

So please, make these and let the people out there know the perks of a baker in the world of raw cookie dough!

Peanut Butter, Pretzels and Chocolate Chip Truffles

4 TBS Butter

1 C Peanut Butter

1 C Confectioner’s Sugar

1 C Crushed Pretzel Sticks

1 C Chocolate Chips

For coating:

1/2 Pounds Chocolate

1 TBS shortening

For Garnish:

Some Sea Salt

Some Hundreds and Thousands

1. Cream butter and peanut butter together. Sift in confectioners sugar and beat till well combined, scrapping down the sides of the bowl as needed.

2. Stir in pretzel sticks and chocolate chips.

3. Refrigerate cookie dough for about 15 minutes, or till they are easy to handle.

4. Roll the dough into 1 inch dough balls (I used an ice cream scoop) and place them on lined cookie sheets. Cover the balls loosely with plastic and freeze them for another 15 minutes.

5. In the meantime, melt the chocolate with the shortening (I used the microwave at 10 seconds bursts).

6. Drop the frozen balls into the melted chocolate, and sprinkle with desired toppings ( I used seasalt and hundreds and thousands)

  1. April 30, 2011 at 10:40 am

    I LOVE eating cookie dough, to the point where sometimes…there is very little left for making cookies! These truffles look fantastic and I really love these fun flavor combinations you’ve come up with!

  2. April 30, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    wow, this is awesome. I love the fact that there is no raw egg. I have been looking for a recipe like this. This will be perfect for when my Goddaughter comes to visit 🙂 I don’t have to worry about her eating the cookie dough lol.

  3. April 30, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    These look scrumptious! Love that there is no raw egg in them too – bonus!

  4. April 30, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    You’re right – they sound amazing! That’s the best combination of flavors!

  5. April 30, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    Wonderful truffles….you do have the perfect blend going on in these. I must try them out soon I think….very very soon…..if only I had pretzels in the kitchen right now.

  6. April 30, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    They look so heavenly! What a beautiful little treat!

  7. May 1, 2011 at 3:41 am

    These are a winner for me because I can eat raw cookie dough by the bucketful. I have to ask, are “Hundreds and Thousands” sprinkles?

  8. May 1, 2011 at 6:27 am

    The chocolate in that truffle looks so deliciously rich!

  9. May 1, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    I made hard-boiled egg chocolate chip cookies the other day! I began to wonder if that’s actually what they do when they’re making cookie dough for the packages, since that cookie dough is safe to eat. These look delicious, and doubt better than just plain chocolate chip cookies. I’m going to have to try them!

  10. May 1, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    These are so pretty! And I’m a cookie dough lover from way back so these are calling my name. 🙂

  11. DG
    May 1, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    How I wish these cookie truffles just in front of me, so I can just grab and have a bite! They look so delicious.

  12. May 2, 2011 at 1:04 am

    These look heavenly! (And can I also add that I adore your plates!!) How do you take such good pictures of all of these things? They definitely add to the mouth watering.

  13. May 16, 2011 at 2:59 am

    these are pretty awesome, but i’ve never heard the term “hundreds and thousands” before

  1. September 6, 2011 at 7:17 pm

Leave a comment