Home > Cakes, Dessert > Cranberry Almond Yoghurt Cupcakes

Cranberry Almond Yoghurt Cupcakes

These might not be the prettiest cupcakes around,

But please, don’t let their modest appearance deceive you. For these are one of the most delicious cupcakes i have ever tasted.

I was quite surprised myself at how much i loved these cupcakes. Then i took a closer look at the recipe, and understood why the cupcakes turned out so great.

It’s quite a brilliant recipe me thinks.

For one instead of using regular sugar, these cupcakes call for icing sugar to be beaten with the butter.This results in a cake texture with the tightest crumbs and finest texture.

  

See what i mean?

Also, instead of regular milk, the recipe also call for yoghurt. And we all know how yoghurt always makes cakes so much more moist and soft. Plus i think the acidity in the yoghurt might have reacted better with the baking powder to result in a better rise in these cupcakes.

Of course, all these deductions are  just shallow observations from a home-baker and i might be gravelly wrong. I have never been professionally trained in baking and am no expert when it comes to how ingredients react with each other.

But i think i might have eaten enough cupcakes to know that these are good!!

Cranberry Almond Yoghurt Cupcakes

(Recipe from Cupcakes by Coco Kong)

110 gr butter

80 gr icing sugar

1 egg

50 gr unflavoured yoghurt

30 gr almond powder

120 gr plain flour

1 tsp baking powder

50 gr dried cranberries, chopped

1. Beat butter and sugar till smooth. Add egg in slowly before adding in the yoghurt.

2. In another bowl, sift flour, baking powder and almond powder together. Stir flour mixture into the butter mixture. Add in cranberries

3. Spoon batter into paper lined cupcake tins till they are three quarters full.

4. Bake at 150 degree celcius for 20-25 minutes, or till they are cooked.

  1. May 9, 2011 at 7:06 am

    I love cranberry and this looks so delicious with yogurt added in it. Can you share the recipe :))

  2. May 9, 2011 at 8:05 am

    Wow they do look that they are soft and finely textured, looks so creamy as well. This definitely is a must try!

  3. May 9, 2011 at 11:04 am

    Some very pretty cupcakes with perfect texture!

  4. May 9, 2011 at 11:52 am

    yummy looking cupcakes

  5. May 9, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    The cupcakes are so pretty…and I love the flavors too! The texture is beautiful, great idea to use icing sugar!

  6. May 9, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    I love the texture of your cupcakes. I’d like to have one with my afternoon coffee. I always enjoy my visits here. You’ve created a lovely spot for your readers to visit and I always enjoy the time I spend here. I hppe you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  7. May 9, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    Could you use almond extract in place of almond powder?

  8. May 9, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    I don’t normally eat alot of cranberries but this Cranberry Almond Yoghurt Cupcakes look exquisite and delicious. I always enjoy viewing what recipes you will post next 🙂

  9. May 9, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    I think you are right 🙂 I have had similar experiences when I mix sugar with butter and when I use yogurt. Those cupcakes look exquisite!

  10. May 10, 2011 at 3:58 am

    Those look so good with such a delicious crumb.

  11. May 10, 2011 at 6:09 am

    Ooooooh, your praise for these cupcakes and the ingredients are calling me to the kitchen, pronto!

  12. May 11, 2011 at 7:27 am

    These look so light and fluffy!

  13. May 11, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    Those are pretty. The crumb just looks divine.

  1. October 13, 2011 at 3:28 pm

Leave a comment