Home > Cookies > 12 Weeks of Christmas, Week #3 No bake Peanut Butter Rice Krispies Hedgehogss

12 Weeks of Christmas, Week #3 No bake Peanut Butter Rice Krispies Hedgehogss

I know the theme for this event is to post happy, colourful Christmas cookies, but i just couldn’t resist sneaking in these little treats.

Sure, hedgehogs are more suited for Halloween, which of course is also just around the corner. In fact, the original recipe called for them to be shaped into mice. But i wasn’t about to get licorice ropes just for the mice tails.

So i kinda improvised, and tried to make them as friendly looking as i possibly could.

The original recipe called for mini candies for the mice’s eyes.

But, that’s not happening to my friendly hedgehogs, i wasn’t about to let them have red, evil stares.

Instead, I dotted some white chocolate for these, plus a mini within for that extra innocence.

And also, a sprinkle of thorns, for i just simply couldnt leave these cherubic faces defenceless.

AAaaww

That’s a hedgehog, eating a giant almond. Hedgehogs eat almonds right.

Oh, did i mention that these are No-bake?

Andthey are made up of the most perfect pair, peanut butter and chocolate?

Ok, i shall not hedge for the recipe and hog on your attention any longer.

Here goes! Recipe from Taste of Home

Ingredients

  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1-1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1-1/2 cups crisp rice cereal
  • 3/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 12 ounces dark chocolate candy coating, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon shortening
  • 36 pieces black shoestring licorice (2 inches each)
  • Assorted candies: Red cake decorator dots, M&M’s semisweet miniature baking bits and black sugar

Directions

  • In a small bowl, beat the peanut butter, butter and vanilla until blended; gradually beat in confectioners’ sugar. Stir in cereal. Shape into 1-in. balls, tapering one end to resemble a mouse. Position almonds on heads for ears. Refrigerate until chilled.
  • In a large microwave-safe bowl, melt candy coating and shortening; stir until smooth. Dip mice into coating; place on waxed paper-lined baking sheets. Immediately insert licorice for tails. Add red dots for eyes and M&M’s miniature baking bits for noses. Sprinkle with black sugar. Refrigerate until set. Yield: 3 dozen.

This is my week #3 of 12 weeks of Christmas Cookies. Third week, means that we are about 9 weeks away from Christmas!

Thanks again Abbey Sweets for hosting the event. I cant wait to see what the others bake up with!

Categories: Cookies Tags: , , , ,
  1. October 13, 2010 at 7:07 am

    The moment I saw your picture, I just broke out into a big smile. These have to be the cutest things that I have ever seen. Seriously, I just squealed with delight. Believe me, they’re perfect no matter what time of year it is.

  2. October 13, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    These are the cutest things!!!

  3. DG
    October 13, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    Super cute 🙂

  4. crustabakes
    October 14, 2010 at 5:25 am

    Thanks everyone! i cant wait for your posts this week!

  5. October 14, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    These are the cutest things I’ve ever seen! Oh my! Perfect for Christmas 🙂

  6. October 14, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    Aw these little guys are SO cute!!

  7. October 14, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    These are so cute! I may just have to try them. Peanut butter and chocolate have been taunting me this week.

    Thanks for the comments on the superhero cake!

    • crustabakes
      October 16, 2010 at 8:28 am

      My pleasure! 😉

  8. Sue
    October 15, 2010 at 7:21 am

    These little hedgehogs are just WAY TOO CUTE! 🙂 Sound YUMMY too!

  9. Shirley@kokken69
    October 15, 2010 at 8:28 am

    These will delight the kids and ….the kids at heart 🙂

  10. October 15, 2010 at 10:14 am

    I love those!!!!!

  11. October 15, 2010 at 11:30 am

    These are so cute! I have seen the mice, but not the hedgehogs! Thanks for sharing them!

  12. October 15, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    I know this would be the first thing I took off the platter! I love when my cookies look back at me. Super cute!

  13. October 15, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    Love these – super cute!

  14. October 15, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Oh my gosh! These are the cutest little cookies I’ve ever seen! Ah now I don’t know if I could eat one.

  15. October 15, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    So fun, I love that you made them hedgehogs. Clever and so cute. You could put a little holly leaf (sprinkles) or something Christmas-y on their heads for the holidays

  16. October 15, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    Oh my word!!!! – these little guys are beyond cute!!!! I will soooo be making these!

    Happy Friday!
    ~avril 🙂

  17. October 15, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    These are darling! What a fun treat!

  18. October 15, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    These are sooo cute. And they sound yummy too!!

  19. October 15, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    These are just adorable! Perfect for a cookie tray anytime of the year!

  20. October 15, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    How cute!!!! I make something similar but call them buckeyes!

  21. October 16, 2010 at 1:58 am

    so creative and adorable – I don’t think I’d be able to eat them because then I’d feel bad!

  22. October 16, 2010 at 7:32 am

    Those are so fricken cute.

  23. October 16, 2010 at 9:53 am

    These are soooo cute! Kids will simply love them!

  24. October 16, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    Adorable!!!

  25. October 18, 2010 at 2:20 am

    These are so stinkin’ cute! I LOVE them!!!

  26. October 18, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    Those are so adorable! I want to make them with my kids!

  27. October 19, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Oh, these are too cute! I’m definitely bookmarking this for the holiday season, my sister would absolutely go crazy for these since she used to have a pet hedgehog ages ago. Thanks for sharing!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment